The Burnsall Feast races attracted highly-competitive fields over the Bank Holiday, with 128 runners tackling the 1.5 mile Classic Fell Race incorporating 900 feet of climbing.

Victories for Ian Holmes (Bingley Harriers) are not quite the foregone conclusion of years gone by and, on this occasion, Holmes came up against 23-year-old Hector Haines (Ilkley), who took the win in 15min 03sec.

Fell specialist Ted Mason (Wharfedale) arrived home six seconds later for second, with Holmes taking third, and the consolation of a V40 category win over clubmate Andy Peace (fourth).

Bingley also saw success in the F50 and M60 categories through Becky Weight and Ken Robinson. Joseph Crossfield (Halifax) came home in eighth for Halifax Harriers and won the male junior category, while Wharfedale's Carol Pollard was first F40.

Wharfedale took the team prize as Mason's second place was complemented by sixth and seventh places for Sam Watson and Fred Bosomworth to see off Ilkley and Bingley.

The female fell race was less close with Holly Page (Calder) leading the field home by 58 seconds in 18:11. Katie Walshaw took second, well clear of Holmfirth clubmate Lucy Needham and Helen Glover (Keighley).

There was more success for Bingley in the junior fell races, with wins for Gordon Weight (U18), Alex Stuart (U12) and Lucy Shutt (U12), while Matthew Merrick was second U14 behind Keighley's Louis Holmes.

The under-eight girls' and boys' races were won by Robyn Anderson (Ilkley) and James Johnson (Halifax).

In the under-ten races, Poppy Anderson was second girl for Ilkley and Callum Durrans (Holmfirth) was first boy. The under-14 girls' race was dominated by a strong Blackburn contingent, with Lucy Haines (Ilkley) fourth.

The undulating ten-mile road race was won in 54:56 by Adam Osbourne (Leeds), with Will Smith (Keighley) second in 57:31, five seconds clear of Matthew Nuttall, who led Blackburn to the team prize.

Pudsey & Bramley had Paul Stevenson (fourth) winning the V50 category and Neil Armitage (seventh) taking second V40.

Geoff Cumber (Halifax) won a close V60 category by 13 seconds from Jim Wheldon (Pudsey Pacers). Sarah Cumber won the female race in 63:34, with Emily Birchall (Leeds) in second.