THE West Riding County Amateur League, which started last season with 37 teams spread over three divisions, will have only 27 teams in two divisions for the 2017-18 campaign.

Kirkburton and Halifax Irish pulled out before Christmas of the 2016-17 season, with both citing a lack of suitable players, while Division Two outfit DRAM Community Reserves also folded before the term finished.

During the close season, Premier Division duo Huddersfield YMCA and Newsome have moved to the West Yorkshire League, while Division One has lost four teams – Westbrook YMCA (folded), Churwell Lions and Tyersal (joined Yorkshire Amateur League) and Ventus-Yeadon Celtic (joined Harrogate League).

This means Churwell have returned to whence they came after just one season, while Ventus-Yeadon were denied promotion to the Premier Division two seasons ago due to their facilities at Dam Lane not being up to scratch for Step Seven of the National League System (NLS).

Tyersal struggled to field two sides all last season, while the reserve teams of Littletown and Thornton United have also gone by the board.

In order to retain their Step Seven status, five teams had to move into the Premier Division of the County Amateur League.

Thornton United and Wakefield City were automatically promoted as champions and runners-up of Division One and they have been joined by elected trio Britannia Sports, Route One Rovers and Holmfirth Town.

Overthorpe Sports Club, who struggled last season in the top flight, accepted relegation into Division One.

Yet Ovenden West Riding, who withdrew from the league before the start of last season, have returned and will play in Division One – along with Huddersfield-based newcomers Unita, plus the remainder of last season's Division Two clubs.

The league are also seeking a new sponsor after Taylor's Timber Centre decided not to extend their backing after the expiry of their two-year deal.

The new season will start on Saturday, August 12 with Premier Division fixtures, while Division One begins the following Saturday.

LEAGUE CONSTITUTION – Premier Division: Britannia Sports, Campion, DRAM Community, Golcar United, Holmfirth Town, Honley, Lepton Highlanders, Littletown, Lower Hopton, Route One Rovers, Salts, Steeton, Thornton United, Wakefield City. Division One: Bradford FC, Golcar Utd Res, Hunsworth, Lower Hopton Res, Ovenden West Riding, Overthorpe SC, Salts Res, Steeton Res, Tingley Athletic, TVR United, Unita, West Horton Wibsey.

* The West Riding County Amateur League have been drawn to play the York Football League away in round one of the FA Inter-League Cup. The game mustplayed by Saturday, October 14.