Yorkshire went down to a disappointing 18-13 loss to Greater Manchester in their second game of the British Parks County Championship

The Tykes fared well at home, with nine winners, taking the aggregate by 43 chalks and triumphing 11-3.

The evergreen Tony Riley was in magical form with a 21-6, and was assisted by debutant Paul Kaye (Clayton), who played superbly to win 21-7.

However, the away team struggled on a difficult Metro Sports green and could only muster two winners, with several close games going against them, in a 12-2 defeat.

Greater Manchester took the three bonus points and with it an 18-13 victory.

With the winner of each group progressing to the final, Yorkshire must find big wins in their last two games against Cheshire and North Derbyshire to have any chance of making it to the final.

Scores from Eccleshill: Dave Cooper 8-21, Tony Green 21-17, Phil Dowgill 21-16, Simon Walder 21-12, Paul Rooks 21-11, Rob Whitfield 21-15, Tony Riley 21-6, Harry Seehra 17-21, Nicky Bastow 21-18, Paul Kaye 21-7, Paul Gill 21-14, Jon Edmondson 8-21.  Yorkshire 222 (11), Greater Manchester 179 (3).

Scores from Metro Sports, Stretford: Danny Towning 19-21, Mick Smith 19-21, Craig Hebberd 10-21, Andrew Tate 20-21, Josh Mordue 9-21, Andy Gilroy 3-21, Dave Hilliam 21-19, Paul Bowes 16-21, Ian Kemp 21-17, Ian Jacques 9-21, Chris Mordue 19-21, Neil Mylan 11-21. Yorkshire 177 (2), Greater Manchester 246 (12).

Dave Scott and Andrew Tate (Clayton) were the winners of the Martin S Lonsdale-sponsored Bradford Pairs Merit, defeating Mally Fowler and Scott Blood-worth (Ladyhill) 21-18 in the final.

Scott and Tate had a relatively untroubled path there but had to overcome Clayton team-mates Paul Gill and Paul Kaye 21-17 in their second game.

A total of 37 pairs took part in the first competition of the year, which saw  excellent bowling throughout.

In the final, it was Fowler and Bloodworth who looked in total control as they led 16-5 after 12 ends, but Scott and Tate showed their class as they stormed back.

They will now be invited to the end-of-season Victor Ludorum (Champion of Champions).

Quarter-finals: P Hunter & A Hafiq (Peel) 9, D Scott & A Tate (Clayton) 21; C Foord & S San-som (Asa Briggs) 6, S Firth & A Walker (Harold Park) 21; L Hicks & K Ramsden 19, M Fowler & S Bloodworth 21; S King & A Southwell (Asa Briggs) 21, D Metcalfe & G Nellist (Greengates) 11. Semi-finals: Scott & Tate 21, Firth & Walker 10, Fowler & Bloodworth 21, King & Southwell 14. Final: Scott & Tate 21, Fowler & Bloodworth 18.

Crossgates were 24-6 home winners against previously undefeated Brighouse Sports A in the Naylor Premier League to move top of the table after carding eight winners, with Mark Hughes 21-8 and Jon Wilcox 21-9 the pick of them.

Whitkirk came up with their first victory of the season after an impressive 24-6 home score over Clayton A, who now find themselves bottom. Starring for Whitkirk were Phil Cooper 21-4, Tony Green 21-5 and David McGourty 21-5.

Eccleshill A remain undefeated, but needed a great comeback to defeat Shipley Club A 19-11.
After four jacks, Eccleshill found themselves 21 points behind, with only one 21-20 winner.  But Eccleshill showed their class to turn the game around and make it four wins out of four.

Mick Smith’s superb 21-5 inspired champions Pudsey A to a 21-9 win at Wyke A, who are still searching for their first victory of the season. Ladyhill A beat Asa Briggs A, helped by Keith Hatzer’s 21-6 – the best of six home winners for Ladyhill.

Pudsey Littlemoor A are already 24 points clear in the Godwin League after a 29-1 demolition of Horsforth Woodside A, taking the aggregate by 102 chalks.

Paul Jacques 21-5, Danny Towning 21-6, Glen Smith  21-6 and Marc Armitage 21-9 were on top form for Littlemoor.

Pudsey B were also big home winners, defeating Drighlington A 28-2, helped by David Hilliam’s 21-7 and Richard Hodgson’s 21-8.

Guiseley A were 17-13 winners over Eccleshill B in a very low-scoring game. Jeff Bolton, with a superb 21-7, got hosts Guiseley off to a flying start, but Andy Woodhead 21-4 and John Benson 21-7 replied late on for the visitors.

The Yorkshire Crown Green Merit qualifying rounds take place on Friday at Peel Park, Eccleshill and Pudsey BC, with a start and scratch of 6.45pm.

There are 35 entries, with one qualifier from each venue, and the finals are on Monday at Elland CA&BC (11am).

Peel: G Smith (Pudsey Littlemoor), S Hanson (Pudsey), S Watson (Pudsey), G Wike (Pudsey), J Edmondson (Pudsey), P Hillam (Eccleshill), R Stockdale (Eccleshill), L Griffin (Pudsey).

Eccleshill: J Spinks (Pudsey), C Mordue (Pudsey), I Shaw (Pudsey), P Gill (Clayton), N Nichoslon (Pudsey), T Hanson (Pudsey), R Hodgson (Pudsey), M Fowler (Ladyhill), A Hodgson (Pudsey), S King (Asa Briggs), N Roper (Pudsey Littlemoor), AW Green (Whitkirk), P Bowes (Pudsey), C Davis (Pudsey).

Pudsey BC: A Southwell (Asa Briggs), J Summers (Asa Briggs), K Ramsden (Ladyhill), S Wilkinson (Clayton), K Hall (Eccleshill), AW Riley (Brighouse Sports), J Stockdale (Guiseley), A Mazurke (Pudsey Littlemoor), P Jacques (Pudsey Littlemoor), C Hebbard (Pudsey Littlemoor), G McCafferty (Asa Briggs), A Marsden (Whitkirk), L Gleave (Hightown).

David Upton (Myrtle Park) and 2013 champion Stuart King (Asa Briggs) were week one qualifiers of the 2014 Shipley Classic, sponsored by H H Birch & Son Ltd.

Upton came through a tough top half, beating Dean Missere (Sheffield) 21-18 in round one. Next up was Bob Whitfield (Brighouse Sports), and when he trailed 17-10, Upton looked to be on his way home.

But a big effort saw him take the game with an 11-break. In the final qualifier, he was up against Eccleshill’s James Davison, which he edged 21-19.

King, on the other hand, showed his class with wins over Peter Clark (Cross Roads) 21-16, Harry Slack (Sheffield) 21-13 and Andy Wood (Brighouse Sports) 21-11.

Qualifying continues on Friday.

Week one qualifyingFirst round: David Upton (Myrtle Park) 21, Dean Missere (Sheffield) 18; Ian Bernard (Silsden) 11, Bob Whitfield (Brighouse Sports) 21; James Davison (Eccleshill) 21, Phil Vayro (Whitkirk) 9; Andy Southwell (Asa Briggs) 21, David White (Chapel Street) 18; Andy Wood (Brighouse Sports) 21, Steve Griffiths (Denholme) 19; James Higgins (Sheffield) 8, Gary Whelan (Guiseley) 21; Harry Slack (Sheffield) 21, Liam Griffin (Pudsey BC) 9; Stuart King (Asa Briggs) 21, Peter Clark (Cross Roads) 16. Second round: Upton 21, Whitfield 17; Davison 21, Southwell 20; Wood 21, Whelan 16; Slack 13, King 21. Third round: Upton 21, Davison 19 (Upton draws No 8 on finals night), Wood 11, King 21 (King draws No 1 on finals night).

Draw for week two qualifying (practice from 6pm for 6.30pm start): Graeme Wilson (Lower Hopton) v Ian Shaw (Pudsey BC), Scott Tattersley (Spen Victoria) v Danny Sillitoe (Dearne Sports), Ian Howard (Meanwood Park) v Joe Cranston (Crossgates), Mark Bennett (Stockport) v Barry Humphreys (Skipton Craven), Josh Brown (Spen Victoria) v Ian Booth (Lower Hopton), Chris Daysh (Meanwood Park) v Paul Bailey (Meersbrook), Kevin Burns (Sandal) v Phil Hall (Ilkley), Nigel Cranston (Crossgates) v Chris Brown (Lower Hopton).

* More bowls in Saturday’s T&A