Asa Briggs A stunned Ladyhill A with a 24-2 home win in Thurston Division One of the Bradford Monday Evening League.

Jack Summers (21-4), Stuart King (21-7) and Andrew Heenan (21-7) did the damage to dent Lady-hill’s chances of challenging this season.

Clayton A were also big home winners, with a 24-2 demolition of Drighlington A, thanks to wins from Steve Wilkinson (21-3) and Andrew Tate (21-9).

Shipley Club A limped to an 18-8 win over Asa Briggs B, with John Preston’s 21-7 the pick of four home winners.

Heckmondwike are struggling for players and will do well to stay up. With four games played, they are still to register their first victory of the season. Their latest defeat was an 18-8 defeat at Ladyhill B, who had Eric Butler again in terrific form with a great 21-8 success.

Oakenshaw A carded their first victory of the season, a 17-9 home win over Shipley Club B in which Phil Lister triumphed 21-7.

Five home winners for Baildon gave them their first victory of the season in a 17-9 success over Royd House A in Robert Bland Division Two. Phil Hall’s 21-13 was the pick of their winners.

Birkenshaw A were 17-9 victors over Spen Victoria, winning the aggregate by 15 chalks, mainly due to David Griffiths (21-8) for the hosts.

Pam Lindley’s 21-9 triumph for Tyersal A at Peel was in vain as the hosts took the game 17-9, helped by Andrew Firth (21-9).

Drighlington B and Myrtle A shared the winners, with Drighlington claiming the aggregate by six chalks to edge the game 14-12 and inflict Myrtle’s first defeat of the season.

West Bradford A made it five wins out of five in the City Sports Division Three after a 19-7 success at Myrtle B, carding an imp-ressive five winners, with John Shoesmith (21-6) the pick. Jim Kelly showed some resistance for Myrtle with a 21-10 win.

Crowghyll B carded all six winners in their emphatic 23-3 on their own patch against Bradford Moor A, with Sylvia Halliday (21-3) and Jeff Townend (21-8) leading the way.

Shipley Club C were another team with an all-six clean sweep at home to Wibsey B (21-5), helped by Bernie Criddle’s 21-10 victory.

Heckmondwike B gained their first win of the season, beating Birkenshaw B 15-11, helped by a superb 21-6 success from Robert Make-peace.

Birkenshaw offered good resistance through Jack Holdsworth (21-7) and Yvonne Northrop (21-9).

Allen Bottomley’s 21-4 win for Eccleshill wasn’t enough to ensure a home victory over Peel. David Firth (21-10) led the fightback as the game ended 13-13.

Thornton A edged home 15-11 against Shipley Club D in the Carter’s Sports Division Four, helped by 21-13 wins from Rod Clough and Judy Cockroft.

Jim Welsh showed resistance for Shipley, with a great 21-10 away from home. Brian Tillotson rolled back the years for Drighlington C with a 21-7 win against Bowling A as the hosts took the game 15-11.

Bowling A managed three away winners but lost the aggregate by 12 chalks. Oakenshaw B were narrow 14-12 away winners at Royd House B as Margaret Briggs, for Oakenshaw, and Gordon Evans, for Royd House, exchanged 21-6 victories.

Brackenhill A edged home 14-12 against Pudsey Littlemoor, helped by Gillian Benson (21-9) and Ken Marsh (21-10). Phil Richards showed his class for Littlemoor as he carded an impressive 21-9 away win to keep them top of the league.

Simon Muncaster’s 21-8 success for West Bradford B helped them to an 18-8 home win over Thornton B in Worthington Sports Division Five. Anita Lyman replied for the visitors with a 21-9 success.

Tyersal B won by the same scoreline in their home match against Bowling C, thanks to Bill Conroy’s 21-5 and Edgar Rhodes’ 21-8 winning cards. In the battle of the Roys, Bowling’s Schofield took the game 21-9 against Tyersal’s Hird to keep the score respectable for the visitors.

Daryl Fieldhouse’s 21-6 success was the pick of four away winners for Wibsey C in their 18-8 win at Bradford Moor B.

Bowling B got off to a flier, carding the first three winners, with Sheila Spencer’s 21-5 the best of them, in their match with Clayton B. But David Topham led the fightback with a 21-7 success as Clayton B took the last three games to take the aggregate by six chalks to score a 14-12 away win.

* Cross Roads bowler Trevor Hargreaves won the Worth Valley Ogden Trophy at Craven Bowling Club.
After losing in last year’s final, he went one better by beating Sutton’s Anthony Emmott 21-15.