Bradford take on Halifax in their second game of the Yorkshire Veterans Inter-District Bowls League tomorrow, hoping to build on their opening 38-20 win over Wakefield.

The home match is at Peel Park again, with the away leg taking place Sowerby Tennis & Bowling Club.

Home team (at Peel Park) – Graham Oliver (Clayton), Rod Bastow (Eccleshill), Bob Baines (Pudsey Littlemoor), David Bottomley (Crowghyll), Ian Matthews (Eccleshill), Paul Hillam (Eccleshill), Ian Johnson (Clayton), Nino Esposito (Ladyhill); Reserve: Derek Relton (Eccleshill); Away team (at Sowerby Tennis & Bowling Club) – Tony Riley (Clayton), Tony Walton (Crowghyll), Denis Thorpe (Crowghyll), David Hodgson (Crowghyll), Alan Peel (Clayton), Tommy Harney (Clayton), David Burns (Peel), Gerald Bromley (Peel); Reserve: Bill Hutchinson (Crowghyll).

* Clayton pair Andrew Tate and Dave Scott were the winners of the Martin S Lonsdale-sponsored Bradford Pairs Merit after defeating Ladyhill duo Mally Fowler and Scott Bloodworth 21-18 in the final. Full report and scores in next week’s T&A.

* The fifth Shipley Classic, sponsored by HH Birch & Son, gets under way tomorrow, with last year’s winner, Stuart King, in action. Phil Vayro (Whitkirk) replaces David McGourty in the tie against Pudsey’s James Hanson.

* Entries are still being taken for the Yorkshire Crown Green Merit, with local rounds taking place on Friday, May 23. Anyone interested should contact Maurice Carter on 01274-664705.

*It is with regret that Bradford Moor B have had to withdraw from Division Three (President’s) of the Wednesday Pairs League. The teams affected are: Peel, Greengates, Shipley Club, West, Shelf, Clayton, Oakenshaw B, Bowling B and Cullingworth B. Their results will be expunged and number three in the fixtures chart will become a bye.