Last year's Priestley Cup finalists meet in first round

Last year's winners Lightcliffe

Last year's winners Lightcliffe

First published in Sport by

Holders Lightcliffe will be hoping history repeats itself when they start their defence of the Sovereign Health Care Priestley Cup at Hanging Heaton tomorrow.

The Halifax side beat their Batley rivals by seven wickets in last year’s final.

Hanging Heaton are fancied to do well this season but have started the campaign with two defeats, having lost to Woodlands on the opening day and going down to top-flight newcomers New Farnley last week.

The other standout tie sees Pudsey St Lawrence, who won the cup in 2011, host 2010 finalists Farsley. Both sides are in the top three of the early Division One table, having won their opening two matches.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree