Bradford No 2 move to summit after fifth successive win

Snooker round-up

Snooker round-up

First published in Sport by

Right on Cue

Bradford No 2 climbed above Huddersfield to the top of Division Two after a 4-2 home victory over Selby in the Yorkshire Inter-District League.

Captain Hanif Rafiq began the contest at Cue Gardens in fine style with a 66-21 win over Kev Hawksworth, after which a tighter second frame was eventually decided on the colours as the Bradford player clinched it 65-34.

Bradford champion Gareth Green started well, making a break of 58, but Selby opponent Darren Hawkins fought back to steal the frame on the pink 69-58.

Their next frame was close but Green appeared in prime position when clearing up until missing a tricky green ball down the cushion.

It went down to the last three colours, which Hawkins cleared with three superb long pots to level the match at 2-2 with an 81-64 verdict.

This was a rare two-frame loss for Green – but Anthony Green edged Bradford back in front by taking his first frame against Tom Butterfield 74-34.

He looked to be in trouble in the next, when a simple snooker appeared on the cards for Butterfield, but two unlikely misses presented the Bradford player with a clearance from the last red to win 76-36.

This clinched a fifth consecutive victory for Bradford, who have a bye in the next round of fixtures before taking on second-placed Huddersfield in a key clash.

Division One leaders Bradford No 1 head to Castleford No 1 on Sunday (7.30pm), while the billiards side take on defending champions Leeds at Great Horton Cricket Club on Saturday (7pm).

* The Yorkshire Snooker Championship qualifying stage bore no fruit for Bradford players, who all missed out on the March quarter-finals.

Hanif Rafiq won 3-0 in his opening match against Donald Lynch and second-round opponent Kuldesh Johal, in top form with breaks of 104 and 120 in his first game, was made to work hard before a 3-1 victory for the Leeds player set the path for qualification.

A first-round battle of Bradford went to Josh Walker, who edged out Lewis Walsh 3-2, but Walker then lost to eventual qualifier Wayne Wootton of Sheffield.

Damian Bentley won his opener 3-0 against Lee Hart (Leeds) but then lost to qualifier Peter Fisher (Castleford), while Russell Morgan and Kevin Firth were both edged out in the first round.

* The Hey’s Trophy quarter-finals and Hopkinson Plate first round get underway tomorrow night, with details having been sent out to all teams.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree