LATEST NEWS: Bradford MP's "relief" as Government implements religious burial amendment to Coronavirus Bill

MORE than 100 politicians have signed a Bradford MP's proposed amendment to an emergency Coronavirus Bill.

The bill will be discussed in Parliament today and aims to give the Government more say when it comes to dealing with the outbreak.

Bradford West MP Naz Shah says some religious communities are worried that this could lead to cremations being used in stead of burials.

She has tabled an amendment to the bill as a result, to protect religious burials.

It has received cross-party sponsorship.

MP Shah said: "I have tabled an amendment to the emergency bill, the Coronavirus Bill, that the Government is bringing to Parliament to give them extra powers to deal with the outbreak.

"Muslim and Jewish communities in particular are worried that some of that legislation could lead to their loved ones being cremated instead of being buried, should capacity issues arise.

"My amendment responds to that concern and gives legal protection to communities.

"Should there be a capacity issue, local authorities must consult next-of-kin and, where needed, local faith-based organisations that can support the councils when need be.

"Which is what happens up and down the country in any case.

"Faith organisations step up and support local services and this is no different.

"So I am seeking those legal protections for communities - to give them the reassurances."

Last night, more than 100 MPs had already signed the amendment with organisations, such as The Muslim Council of Britain and The Board of Deputies of British Jews, also supporting the move.

A full list of MPs who have signed the amendment is as follows:

  • Wes Streeting MP, Ilford South
  • Steve Baker MP, Wycombe
  • Mohammed Yasin MP, Bedford 
  • Imran Ahmad Khan MP, Wakefield 
  • Christian Wakeford MP, Bury South
  • Abena Oppong-Asare MP, Erith and Thamesmead
  • Rosie Duffield MP, Canterbury
  • Paul Bristow MP, Peterborough
  • Stella Creasy MP, Walthamstow
  • Angela Rayner MP, Ashton-under-Lyne
  • Kate Green MP, Stretford and Urmston
  • Paula Barker MP, Liverpool Wavertree
  • Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP, Streatham
  • Zara Sultana MP, Coventry South
  • Ruth Cadbury MP, Brentford and Isleworth
  • Kate Osbourne MP, Jarrow
  • Sarah Owen MP, Luton North
  • Anna Mcmorrin MP, Cardiff North
  • Preet Gill MP, Edgbaston
  • Geriant Davies MP, Swansea West
  • Khalid Mahmood MP, Perry Barr
  • Lyn Brown MP, West Ham
  • Tony Lloyd MP, Rochdale
  • Dawn Butler MP, Brent Central
  • Yasmin Qureshi MP, Bolton South East
  • Afzal Khan MP, Manchester Gorton
  • Imran Hussain MP, Bradford East
  • Tahir Ali MP, Birmingham Hall Green
  • Apsana Begum MP, Poplar and Limehouse
  • Lilian Greenwood MP, Nottingham South
  • Jess Philips MP, Birmingham Yardley
  • Navendu Mishra MP, Stockport
  • Mark Hendrick MP, Preston
  • Seema Malhotra MP, Feltham and Heston
  • Janet Daby MP, Lewisham East
  • Annelise Dodds MP, Oxford East
  • Rosena Alin-Khan MP, Tooting
  • Kate Osamor MP, Edmonton
  • Stephen Morgan MP, Portsmouth South
  • Matt Pennycook MP, Greenwich and Woolwich
  • Rachel Reeves MP, Leeds West
  • Gill Furniss MP, Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough
  • Hilary Benn MP, Leeds Central
  • Claudia Webbe MP, Leicester East
  • Emma Hardy MP, Kingston upon Hull
  • Nadia Whittome MP, Nottingham East
  • Holly Lynch MP, Halifax
  • Tracy Brabin MP, Batley and Spen
  • Jack Dromey MP, Birmingham Erdington
  • Racheal Maskell MP, York Central
  • Rosie Cooper MP, West Lancashire
  • Rachel Hopkins MP, Luton South
  • Sam Tarry MP, Ilford South
  • Gareth Thomas MP, Harrow West
  • Valerie Vaz MP, Walsall South
  • Sarah Jones MP, Croydon Central
  • Rupa Haq MP, Ealing Central and Acton
  • Mick Whitley MP, Birkenhead
  • James Murray MP, Ealing North
  • Martin Vickers MP, Cleethorpes
  • Florence Eshalomi MP, Vauxhall
  • Barry Gardiner MP, Brent North
  • Tim Loughton MP, East Worthing & Shoreham
  • Tonia Antoniazzi MP, Gower
  • Ian Mearns MP, Gateshead
  • Stephen Timms MP, East Ham
  • Ed Davey MP, Kingston and Surbiton
  • David Lammy MP, Tottenham
  • Rushanara Ali MP, Bethnal Green and Bow
  • Tan Dhesi MP, Slough
  • Philip Davies MP, Shipley
  • Alistair Carmichael MP, Orkney and Shetland
  • Wendy Chamberlain MP, North East Fife
  • Daisy Cooper MP, StAlbans
  • Tim Farron MP, Westmorland and Lonsdale
  • Wera Hobhouse MP, Bath
  • Christine Jardine MP, Edinburgh West
  • Layla Moran MP, Oxford West and Abingdon
  • Sarah Olney MP, Richmond Park
  • Jamie Stone MP, Sutherland and Easter Ross
  • Munira Wilson MP, Twickenham
  • Fabian Hamilton MP, Leeds North East
  • Jonathan Gullis MP, Stoke-on Trent North
  • Clive Efford MP, Eltham
  • Karen Buck MP, Westminister North
  • Debbie Abrahams MP, Oldham East
  • Shabana Mahmood MP, Birmingham Ladywood
  • Feryal Clark MP, Enfield North
  • Vicky Foxcroft MP, Lewisham Deptford
  • Judith Cummins MP, Bradford South
  • Kate Hollern MP, Blackburn
  • Sharon Hodgson MP, Washington and Sunderland
  • Emma Lewell-Buck MP, South Shields
  • Paul Bristow MP, Peterborough
  • Jon Cruddas MP, Dagenham and Rainham
  • Jo Stephens MP, Cardiff Central
  • Jim McMahon MP, Oldham West and Royton
  • Virendra Sharma MP, Ealing
  • Liam Byrne MP, Birmingham Hodge Hill
  • Maria Eagle MP, Garston and Halewood
  • Steve McCabe MP, Birmingham Selly Oak
  • Richard Burgon MP, Leeds East
  • Marsha de Cordova MP, Battersea
  • Ian Byrne MP, Liverpool West Derby
  • John Cryer MP, Leyton & Wanstead
  • Kim Johnson MP, Liverpool Riverside