WEST Leeds Motor Club ran at Post Hill on Saturday where 39 competitors enjoyed a multi-class four lap ten section novice and beginners championship trial.

Jeff Prior and his team trudged the hillside course with flag bags to plot the sections.

Ironically Chris Hunt, on home ground for a change, and Mick Clarke got round on a seven score.

The Luscombe duo, from Cullingworth, were in conflict especially when Sam took his father Robin to the cleaners.

Fives in sections six and nine toppled Robin into a tie-breaker that the lad won.

Leyburn's Richard Sadler won the national Wainwright Shield Trial at Marsett on Sunday beating Telford's Tom Minta and Sheffield's Dan Thorpe.

Danny Gamble, John Crinson and Sam Yeadon made up the top six experts.

Chester's Phil Houghton headed the Clubman and Over 40's classes from Ilkley's Andy Tales and Richmond's Richard Fraser.

One hundred and ten competitors rode a two lap 24-section course.

Despite an 11th hour change of venue, Ripon Motor Club's entry number soared above 70 competitors for fourth Acklams Beta Championship trial at Winksley on Saturday.

Peter and Roger Fleetham, farmers at Mill House Farm, plotted a testing main course of ten woodland sections.

The Small Wheel numbers were down on the norm with just seven youngsters riding five sections in the upper wood area.

Oliver Wass, Sam Ethell and Riley Plumpton were the stars with Elliott Tennant and Will Ethell riding the easy class and incurring identical penalties.

The main course took in Hencliffe where the stream came into play.

Course planner Nigel Simpson won the Over 50's class from Chris Dale and Tony Calvert.

Paul Dennis won the Twin Shock category while Paul Sadler topped the Green course class. John Hillary ran off with the main course class.

Horsforth and District Motor Club ran the fifth Simon Green Championship trial at Dry Gill, Greenhow, on Sunday.

Aaron Carter won the experts course with Silsden's Gabby Whitham second and Andrew Walters third.

Another Lampkin, Alfie Lampkin, won the Youth Class B.

Results of the Horsforth trial are:

Hard course:

Experts: 1 Aaron Carter (TRS) 4, 2 Gabby Whitham (Beta) 9, Andrew Walters

(Beta) 70.

Novices: 1 = Phil Blacka (Vertigo) 0/ David Petty (Beta) 0, 3 Steven Fowler

(Beta) 11.

Over 50s: 1 Kevin Alderson (Gas Gas) 18, 2 Mark Houson (Montesa) 87.

Youth Class A: Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 8.

Youth Class B: 1 Alfie Lampkin (Vertigo) 11, 2 Max Chadwick (Beta) 13, 3 Mason Carter (Beta) 48.

Clubman A:

Novices: 1 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 1, 2 Jake Weatherill (Sherco) 16, 3 James Camfield (Beta) 16.

Over 50s: 1 Nige Pearson (Beta) 4, 2 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 5, 3 Paul Ingleby (TRS) 6.

Youth Class B: Joseph (Beta) 46.

Youth Class C: William Sagar (Beta) 15.

Clubman B.

Novices: 1 Charlie Lister (Beta) 7, 2 Lee Dent (Montesa) 8, 3 Paul Lister

(Montesa) 9.

Over 50s; 1 Richard Hall (Beta) 5, 2 Steve Gossop (SWM) 7, 3 Mark Grant

(Beta) 10.

Pre-65: 1 Michael Driffield (BSA) 5, 2 David Brogden (BSA) 9.

Youth Class B: 1 Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 8, 3 Oliver Petty (Beta) 21, 3 Jimmy Crabtree (Beta) 22.

Youth Class D: Joel Isherwood (Beta) 26, 2Bobby Crabtree (Beta) 46.

Small Wheels Yellow: Arthur Wright (Oset) 17.

White: Edward Abram 13, 2 Will Clements 13, 3 Charley W Jennings 34. (All Oset).