BRITISH rider Lizzie Deignan clinched victory in the OVO Energy Women's Tour with the smallest winning margin in the history of the race.

The 30-year-old from Otley took the win after beating Poland's Katarzyna Niewiadoma by just two seconds.

Deignan, who finished eighth on the concluding stage from Carmarthen to Pembrey Country Park, headed into Saturday in possession of the green jersey, fresh from her first win since returning from maternity leave.

She now has her first title since giving birth to daughter Orla nine months ago and also becomes the first cyclist to win the event twice, adding to her 2016 triumph.

"It means a huge amount," said Deignan, who only returned from maternity leave in April.

"I think the last time I came here I was probably one of the favourites to win the race and this time I wasn't a favourite, so it was a different experience.

"It was just grit and determination. I'm away from my daughter for a reason, I'm here to do a job. I've got a fantastic team around me that I didn't want to let down."

Following a sprint finish, Holland's Amy Pieters won the final stage ahead of Leah Kirchmann and Roxane Fournier.

Deignan had moved into the lead in the OVO Energy Women's Tour after winning the penultimate stage of the race in Builth Wells on Friday.

She triumphed in a sprint finish over previous stage winner Katarzyna Niewiadoma and Trek-Segafredo team-mate Elisa Longo Borghini to take the leader's jersey by a single second.

The stage five success was Deignan's first victory since she returned to the sport following maternity leave.

Deignan said: "I can't quite really describe it - it was probably the nicest win I've had in a very long time. I really savoured and enjoyed it."

Having broken clear prior to the final Queen of the Mountains sprint, the leading trio kept the peloton at bay as they jostled for position ahead of the finish.

Longo Borghini led her team-mate around the final turn before Deignan pounced to edge her Polish rival and give her the advantage ahead of Saturday's race conclusion in Carmarthenshire.