WHILE firefighters battled with four moorland fires three miles east of Addingham Moorside on Sunday, the 56 competitors in the Yeadon-Guiseley club's third closed to club championship trial at the Silsden venue sweltered in almost tropical heat.

It was warm at 9.30am when Danny Cockshott and Louis Haley marked out the 10-section trials course.

All the sections were bone dry and mainly rocky climbs out in the country and under the cliff face opposite the parc ferme.

The going suited Ben Hemingway, who got his Beta home without penalty.

Sam Beecroft-Penny was near but a stop in section nine, while Charlie Smith also lost six of his 10 marks.

Jamie Stephenson lost a mark in section five on the escarpment climb, and that was it for the Liversedge rider.

Harrogate timber merchant Rob Hardisty won Clubman B ahead of riding colleague Phillip Hammond but they were in different age groups.

As usual they were first to complete the course. Only eight small wheelers competed which was a pity as they had a longish course with many variations in sections. Poppy Fletcher ruled the middle route, while Koby Smith excelled with a single penalty in section two.

Results: Hard course: Experts: 1 Ben Hemingway (Beta) 0, 2 Sam Beecroft-Penny (TRS) 7.1. Inters: 1 Louis Haley (Montesa) 32, 2 Danny Cockshott (Montdesa) 72. Novices: Charlie Smith (Beta) 10. Youth Class A: Jacob Snowdon (Beta) 63. Clubman A:1 Jamie Stephenson (Montesa) 1, 2 Simon Winfield (Gas Gas) 3, 3 John Lydamore (Beta) 4. Youth Class B: 1 Henry Stephenson (TRS) 18, 2 Charlie Crossland (Beta) 28, 3 Jasper Fox (Beta) 51. Clubman B: Novices: 1 Ben Yeadon (Beta) 14, 2 Karl Greaves (Vertigo) 21, 3 Tom Peacock (Beta) 23.

Over 40s: 1 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 10, 2 Michael Winstanley (Beta) 10. Over 50's: 1 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 4, 2 Mark Yeadon (Beta) 15, 3 Phil Smithson (Montesa) 38.

Youth Class A: Oliver Winstanley (Beta) 49.

Youth Class C: 1 Freddie Stephenson (Beta) 54, Charlie Petty (Beta) 148, 3 Oliver Petty (Beta) 170.

Small Wheels: Middle route: 1 Poppy Fletcher 12, 2 Aiden Richardson 20, 3 Edward Stansfield 51. (All Oset). Easy route: 1 Koby Smith (Beta) 1, 2 William Bradley (Oset) 4, 3 Harry Whitehead (Oset) 13.

Meanwhile, Yorkshire Centre trials champion Danny Gamble won the Rebecca Hoare Memorial Trial at Tong on Saturday in what turned out as a real battle in all three classes that contested the Horsforth Motor Club event.

The hard work by the trials organisers paid great dividends.

Seventy-six starters and that number included Lancastrians and Durham competitors. Ten Yorkshire trials clubs were represented at the Parkwood Offroad Centre.

The main course format was three laps and 12 sections masterminded by Messrs Nige Pearson, Howard Gulley, Tom Green, Russ Brodie, Simon Green and Barrie Smith, while Chris Fannon and Tom Kopasz set out and ran the small wheel class.

Results: Hard course: Experts: 1 Danny Gamble (Sherco) 2, 2 Andy Cripps (Beta) 11. Inters: 1 Anthony Ayrton (TRS) 65, 2 Jack Taylor (Beta) 118, 3 Michael Hyden (Gas Gas) 120. Novices: 1 William Tolson (Beta) 43, 2 Ben Cornthwaite (Vertigo) 49, 3 Andy Johnson (Gas Gas) 58. Youth Class A: 1 Harvey Taglione (Gas Gas) 84, 2 Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 132.

Clubman A: Novices: 1 Lee Trafford (TRS) 26, 2 Giles Hemsworth (Beta) 27, 3 Jeff Prior (Vertigo) 27. Over 40s: 1 Chris Johnson 12, 2 Neil Gaunt (Beta) 12, 3 Roy Palmer (Montesa) 17. Youth Class B: 1 Martyn Pratt (Beta) 25, 2 Charlie Cripps (Gas Gas) 51, 3 Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 124.

Clubman B: Novices: 1 Peter Hollingworth (Beta) 11, 2 Paul Hobson (Honda) 15, 3 Nick Hammerton (Honda) 17.

Over 50s: 1 Mick Kettlewell (TRS) 8, 2 Paul Harper (Sherco) 21, 3 Paul Bell (Sherco) 26.

Youth Class C: 1 Tom Wright (Beta) 25, 2 Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 55, 3 Alfie Carney ((Oset) 81. Small Wheels. Red route: 1 Arthur Wright (Oset) 8, 2 Joshua Witting (Beta) 19. 3 Callum Edmundson (Beta) 24. Yellow route: 1 Ruby Lawrie 5, 2 George Wright 9, 3 Joseph Witting 56. (All Oset). White route: 1 Charley W Jennings 5, 2 Evie-Rae Edmundson 12, 3 Will Clements 45. (All Oset).