THE Bradford Motor Club's Manywells Novice and Beginners Championship certainly pulled in the numbers on Saturday at Howden Wood, Silsden, where 61 competitors, in three course classes, assembled to ride a four-lap eight section event.

The first shock was when Tim Jackson and Andy Cobb signed event secretary Carina Carters' entry form. Goole is not exactly local. Cobb said: "We thought it would be something different, so we hit the M62."

Shock number two was when quad and sidecar racer Davy Nixon arrived with his colleagues Andy Watson and Alex Mackay dropped in from Hexham, Northumberland.

Jason Dunning and his team plotted an eight-section course.

Skipton teenager Jacob Snowden returned from a long absence from trialling to win the hard route class, riding his Beta machine.

The second section under the rock face caught Snowden for a single penalty on lap two, while challenger Adam Thornton incurred two penalties in the fourth section.

Third place went to Colne's Ryan Crowder, who struggled in the fourth section, as did Keighley's Aaron Crowder.

Alfie Lampkin won the Class B Youth class despite opting for the hard course and the slight handicap of his multi-world champion father Dougie watching every move.

Shaun Lightfoot won middle course class from Phil Aygarth and Skipton youth Josh Pearson.

Sherco rider Steve Wicks got round the easy course on single figure score from Davy Nixon and Vern Clarke. The quad racer was on the recovery road after a knee operation.

Bradford will run again on May 12 at Town End Farm, Ickornshaw, Cowling, from 11am.

Results: Hard course: Novices: 1 Adam Thornton (TRS) 2, 2 Ryan Crowder (Sherco) 8, 3 Aaron Carter (TRS) 12. Youth Class A: Jacob Snowden (Beta) 1. Youth Class B: 1 Alfie Lampkin (Vertigo) 24, 2 Mason Carter (Beta) 25, 3 Lucy Atryon (TRS) 68. Youth Class C: William Sagar (Beta) 37.

50/50 course: Novices: 1 Shaun Lightfoot (Beta) 19, 2 Phil Haygarth (Beta) 23, 3 Stephen Addy (Beta) 40. Youth Class A: Harry Sutcliffe (Beta) 43. Youth Class B: 1 Josh Pearson (Beta) 38, 2 Jamie Rowntree (Beta) 48, 3 James Clough (Beta) 148. Youth Class C: Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 74.

Easy course: Novices: 1 Steve Wicks (Sherco) 5, 2 Davy Nixon (Gas Gas) 13, 3 Vern Clarke (Sherco) 13. Youth Class A: 1 Angus Aygarth (Beta) 38, 2 Harry Shackleton (Sherco) 55, 3 Lauren Crowder (Sherco) 59. Youth Class C: 1 Charlie Petty (Beta) 19. 2 Jack Pullen (Beta) 32, 3 Oliver Petty (Beta) 41. Youth Class D: Joel Isherwood (Beta) 35.

Meanwhile, the annual Jack Leslie Ellis Trial was another success story for the Ripon club.

A dry, mostly, day at Winksley where the Fleetham acres formed the backdrop for the Jack Leslie Ellis Trial.

The road based trial took in the legendary Wards sections and soggy Dallowgill Moor after five tough openers at Hencliffe Bridge, where the narrow stream featured section one to four.

West Hill Edge woods was a trip into a timber yards which was a legacy of tree felling so the ride up the dense wood was a trip into the unknown.

Clubman B winner Howard Gulley stopped on lap one then Ben Hemingway maxed the top part on lap two.

The fourth started in the stream and then right turn and blast up the hillside.

For Paul Gravestock it was a bathing session in cold water. Stuart Blythe rocketed up on both laps knowing Clubman A winner Darren Gill and arch rival Roger Williams and failed on lap one.

The final section right alongside Hencliffe Bridge was fearsome for the hard route contenders. Only eight cleans in the championship class. Only Sam Yeadon and Centre champion Danny Gamble nailed the huge rocks twice.

Hemingway was near but moved sideways and dropped off and into a gap from which there was no escape.

The Clubmen missed part of the section and cleans were the order of the day.

The middle section Wards, three on the agenda on the rock-strewn woodland, took marks from all but Martin Crosswaite it gave his Montesa its' head.

Dallowgill Moor was the extreme distance and mud abounded.

The final four were in the Woodyard and over the river in the adjoining woods where Sadler nearly lost the plot with two marks in the 18th and another in section 20. Kendrew had ridden 14 sections clean apart from a two in West Hill Edge on lap one. A close call for Richard Sadler but a win.

Results: Championship class: Experts: 1 Richard Sadler (Gas Gas) 8, 2 Guy Kendrew (Gas Gas) 9, 3 Liam Walker (Gas Gas) 17. Inters: 1 Louis Haley (Montesa) 66, 2 Thomas Housecroft (Beta) 66, 3 Danny Cockshott (Montesa) 118. Clubman A: 1 Darren Gil 18, 2 Roger Williams 21, Stuart Blythe 21. (All Beta). Clubman B: 1 Howard Gulley (TRS) 14, 2 Philip Hammond (Sherco) 19, 3 Karl Greaves (Vertigo) 23.