EMBASSY Yeadon C were crowned champions of Division Two in the Bradford Table Tennis League following their victory at Highdale B.

Although they only had two players, both Ian Marshall and Tony Boyd came up trumps with three each and the doubles for a 7-3 success which puts them out of reach at the top.

The battle for second place could go down to the wire after the two teams in contention locked horns.

Embassy Yeadon D are in second place and they started the match against third-placed Hermits C with a seven-point lead. However, Hermits had a match in hand so victory was crucial for both sides.

Hermits put themselves in a strong position when they led 4-1 with two each from Louis Bigallet and Tony McGowan.

The home side then produced a storming finish to take the last five sets to snatch victory 6-4. Chris Sanderson (2) and Mark Griffin were among the winners. Embassy Yeadon D are now favourites to take the runners-up spot.

In Division Four, Baildon D have one hand on the championship following their tricky visit to third-placed Unity C. The match was finely poised at 3-3 before Baildon took the last four sets for victory.

Shirley Toulmin won all three, Jerry Harkawy won two and John Jennison added one, leaving Baildon needing just four sets from their final fixture against Hermits J.

Results, Division One: Embassy Yeadon B 7 Unity A 3, Hermits A 7 Dewsbury B 3, Unity A 3 Heckmondwike 7.

Division Two: Embassy Yeadon D 6 Hermits C 4, Fastbats 3 Baildon A 7, Hermits B 6 Hermits E 4, Highdale B 3 Embassy Yeadon C 7.

Division 3 Hermits H 9 Baildon B 1, Baildon C 2 Rastrick 8, Hermits G 6 Thornbury A 4.

Division 4 Unity C 3 Baildon D 7, Hermits I 7 Thornbury B 3.