THE FINALISTS for the fourth annual Bradford Sports Awards have been announced today.

The 2019 finalists - chosen by a panel following public nominations - include Bradford Bulls in the running for five awards across both their male and female sides.

Both teams are in the running for Club/Team of the Year; star centre Amy Hardcastle is a Sportswoman of the Year finalist; and John Kear is a Coach of the Year candidate in a strong line-up.

The Bulls men’s team are also shortlisted for the Sporting Highlight of the Year for their play-off final win.

Bradford (Park Avenue) have been shortlisted in both Club/Team of the Year and Special Recognition, the latter for their ‘Avenue in the Community’ initiative.

Horizon Taekwondo Academy also feature prominently, with husband and wife duo Rick Simpson and Natalie Simpson-Kidd in with a shout of being named Coach of the Year, among a host of nominations for the club and their athletes.

Baildon Church of England Primary School feature heavily, being finalists for: School of the Year; Active Workplace; and Student Club/Team. Teachers Matthew Holliday and Tom Van Der Gucht are also two of three finalists in the new Teacher of the Year award.

The full shortlist consists of Bradford athletes, coaches and volunteers across four main categories: Senior Achievers, Young Achievers, Active Achievers and Outstanding Contribution.

In order to be considered, nominees must have been born, lived, trained or represented an organisation within the City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council boundaries.

The full list of finalists is as below:

Senior Achievers - Sponsored by The Broadway Bradford


Jack Carthy (cyclist)

John Bateman (rugby league)

Darren Tetley (boxing)


Ellie Bowden (taekwondo)

Natalie Haythorthwaite (netball)

Amy Hardcastle (rugby league)

Katelyn Entwistle (karate)

Disability Sportsman

Stuart Meikle (para duathlon)

Steven Birkin (taekwondo)

Neil Hartley (basketball)

Disability Sportswoman

Farah Yasin (taekwondo)

Alana Walker (hand cyclist)


Bradford Bulls

Bradford (Park Avenue) AFC

Bradford Bulls Women

Club/Team (Amateur)

Horizon Taekwondo Academy

Bradford City Disability FC Ladies

City of Braford Esprit Diving Club

Young Achievers – Sponsored by City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Young Male Sportsperson

Jack Stanley (gymnastics)

Sam McGurk (speedway)

Jamie Simpson-Kidd (taekwondo)

Young Female Sportsperson

Gina Bene-Hamill (taekwondo)

Holly Waxman (diving)

Elizabeth Powley (diving)

Young Disability Sportsperson

Zak Hussein (cycling)

Ella Curtis (cycling)

Young Club/Team

Great Horton Church Cricket Club

Athletico Juniors Football Club

Horizon Taekwondo

Active Achievers

Active Workplace

Baildon Church of England Primary School


Active School

Baildon Church of England Primary School

Girlington Primary School

Newhall Park Primary School

Student Club/Team

Bradford Grammar School Junior Girls (running)

Baildon Church of England Primary School (boccia)

Woodhouse Grove under 16’s (netball)

Outstanding contribution


Janet Arkwright (athletics)

Natalie Simpson-Kidd (taekwondo)

Rick Simpson (taekwondo)

John Kear (rugby league)

Aidy Boothroyd (football)


Mick Lodge (football)

Majid Hussain (football)

Dan Cherington (running)

Sporting Highlight

Bradford City Disability FC Ladies (The People’s FA Cup)

Bradford Bulls (play-off final win)

Team Tour de Yorkshire (Bradford)


Matthew Holliday (Baildon Church of England Primary School)

Roger Howard (Woodhouse Grove School)

Tom Van Der Gucht (Baildon Church of England Primary School)

Special recognition

The Inclusion in Sport Class – Mixed Ability Sport 4 All

Bradford (Park Avenue) AFC – Avenue in the Community

Tony Kingham

The winners will be announced on Thursday, March 7 at Bradford City's Northern Commercials Stadium on what promises to be a fantastic night of celebration of sport at both a professional and community level.

Event tickets are available from starting at £30.

For sponsorship opportunities, contact Gary McCall at

For further information about the awards contact or call 0330 2020 280.