UNITY A moved into pole position in Division Two of the Bradford League after contrasting fixtures against opposition from Hermits.

The Unity team have been behind Highdale B for most of the season but a 6-4 victory in a rearranged match against Hermits B put them top.

Unity had a straightforward 10-0 victory over basement team Hermits D but the catch-up fixture against the B team was a different story.

The first four matches were shared as Greg Hill and Friday Ng'andu were on the mark for Hermits, while Mick Stead and Neil Harris replied for Unity.

The next two matches proved crucial to the final outcome as Steve Whitaker came from 2-0 down to pip Hill, taking the last three games 15-13, 13-11, 11-7.

Stead was then given his toughest test so far against Ng'andu, coming out on top 11-9 in the decider, and Unity now led 4-2.

Hermits hit back to draw level as Andy Braithwaite and Ng'andu beat Whitaker and Harris respectively – but Stead took the last singles against Hill in five games and joined Whitaker to seal overall victory with a 3-0 doubles success.

Baildon A had a great 6-4 win over third-placed Hermits C in this section, with league president Peter Warner making a telling contribution,

Ian Warner has been a model of consistency for Baildon so far and he added three more singles to take his tally to 29 out of 36.

On the other hand, Peter has found it tough going in this division, winning just two out of 36 up to now.

He managed a single in the earlier fixture against Hermits C and repeated his victory over Zarnab Jamal.

Lee Matthews also won one and the Warners teamed up in the doubles to clinch victory.

Deo Jones guided Yeadon A to a 6-4 victory in a tight Division One contest against Embassy Police B.

Jones took all three singles and, with Liang Wong and Fred Yeung both beating Paul Stephenson, Yeadon led 5-4.

Ian Marshall and Jacek Dabrowski won two each for Police B but Jones completed an unbeaten evening as he and Wong took the doubles 11-7 in the fifth.

Division One: Embassy Police A 6 Pudsey A 4, Yeadon A 6 Embassy Police B 4. Division Two: Hermits B 4 Unity A 6, Pudsey B 3 Highdale B 7, Unity A 8 Fastbats 2, Hermits D 0 Unity A 10, Baildon A 6 Hermits C 4, Fastbats 9 Pudsey B 1. Division Three: Unity B 4 Rastrick 6, Baildon B 7 Baildon C 3, Rastrick 2 Hermits G 8. Division Four: Thornbury A 10 Hermits J 0, Thornbury B 1 Hermits I 9, Hermits H 7 Hermits K 3, Hermits J 2 Baildon D 8.