THE weather may have put paid to the last Spen Winter Sweep of the year but bowlers are hardy and returned to action two days later at the same venue.

A Spen 16 three-bowl competition was held on New Year's Day and Gareth Lally of Crossgates emerged as the winner, defeating Josh Mordue (Pudsey) in the final.

Losing semi-finalists were late replacement Chris Ellis (Spen Victoria) and Marc Armitage (Littlemoor) as competitors seemed to appreciate the different format in the Kez Smith-organised event.

Last 16: Mark Regan bt Adam Mellor, Gaz Lally bt Lorraine Hirst (late replacement), Joe Cranston bt Dave Smith, Chris Ellis (late replacement) bt Andy Thornton, Marc Armitage bt Kez Smith, Paul Kissock bt Scott Tattersley, Danny Sillitoe bt Neil Slattery, Josh Mordue bt Chris Firth. Quarter-finals: Lally bt Regan, Ellis bt Cranston, Armitage bt Kissock, Mordue bt Sillitoe. Semi-finals: Lally bt Ellis, Mordue bt Armitage. Final: Lally bt Mordue.

A combination of thawing snow and constant rain the previous night proved too much for the Spen Winter Sweep last weekend, not only leaving the greens with surface water but also being dangerous under foot.

Competitors hope to be back in action on the top green this Saturday, when there is a maximum entry of 40 and a waiting list of five.

Spen Winter Sweep field for Saturday: Marc Armitage, Scott Bloodworth, Chris Bly, Gordon Bradford, Richard Brook, Paul Burke, Gareth Coates, Joe Cranston, Chris Firth, Andy Fleming, Alan Forrest, Mally Fowler, Andy Gallagher, Frank Griffin, David Hemsley, Karen Hill, Lorraine Hirst, Paul Holt, Stuart King, Suzy Ladbrooke, Brian Lee, Nigel Marshall, Adam Mellor, Chris Mordue, Josh Mordue, Les Oddy, Duncan Reeves, Mark Regan, Bailey Rice, Colin Scorah, Danny Sillitoe, Neil Slattery, Kez Smith, Michael Sweeney, Scott Tattersley, Danny Teale, Andy Thornton, Billy Thornton, Garry Walker, Warren Wilson. Reserves: Danny Fountain., Gareth Lally, Wayne Ditchfield, Paul Kissock, Mick Pollard.

Meanwhile, the Nigel Briggs-organised Brighouse Winter Sweep returns on Sunday after a break for the festive period.

Brighouse Winter Sweep field for Sunday: Mark Regan, Nigel Briggs, Gareth Coates, Jason Horsley, Gordon Bradford, Mark McGorlick, Mark Connolly, Jon Edmondson, Stuart King, Neil Slattery, Aidy Brown, Sophie Brown, Mally Fowler, Josh Brown, Gary Siswick, Mark Allman, Alex Wolfenden, Adam Wider, Danny Fountain, Pete Hepworth, Clive Austin, Neil Simpson, Dave Fox, Dave Hemsley.