HERMITS were involved in some see-saw encounters in their latest Bradford League fixtures.

Pride of place must go to Zarnab Jamal, who had a memorable evening for Hermits C in their Division Two meeting with Pudsey B.

Jamal began by taking the opening set 11-9 in the fifth against Linda Sanderson – and when she returned to the table, the teams were level at 2-2 after Tony Mcgowan won the second set for Hermits, with Doug Bartle and Sanderson levelling the score for Pudsey.

She then came from behind to beat Bartle to edge Hermits 3-2 up, before Paul McKrieth and Mcgowan extended their advantage to 5-2 with wins over Adrian Worth and Bartle respectively.

Sanderson kept Pudsey in touch with a five-game win over McKreith, setting the stage for Jamal to clinch victory in the final singles.

She duly came up trumps, coming from 2-1 down to beat Worth and then joining McKrieth to take the doubles for a 7-3 success.

In another Division Two encounter, Hermits B and Fastbats were involved in a ding-dong struggle.

There was no sign of the marathons to come as Shamir Bose and Martin Connolly took the first two for Hermits comfortably against Keith Smith and Helen Shields.

Yet the next six matches all needed a deciding game and former Fastbats player Tony McGowan, who was at No 3 for Hermits, was on the wrong end of all of them. He was pipped by Neil Foley, Shields and Smith.

Bose and Connolly both overcame Foley, while Smith came from 2-0 down to beat Connolly.

After the marathons were over, the teams were at 4-4, and Bose completed his unbeaten evening by defeating Shields in the last singles. But fittingly the match finished all-square as Smith and Shields won the doubles in four games for Fastbats.

In Division Three, opponents Hermits E and Hermits G were both unbeaten and in the top two. But the E team came out on top thanks to an unbeaten performance from Mohammed Murtaza.

All of his three singles went to five games, while Azim Afzal added two and Mohammed Mukhtar Khan took the final singles to clinch victory. Kath Manogue won twice and Tim Moran once for the G team.

Division One: Embassy Police A 6 Dewsbury Tog A 4, Highdale A1 Yeadon A 9. Division Two: Pudsey B 8 Yeadon B 2, Baildon A 6 Hermits D 4, Hermits C 7 Pudsey B 3, Hermits B 5 Fastbats 5. Division Three: Baildon B 4 Rastrick 6, Hermits E 6 Hermits G 4. Division Four: Hermits K 2 Baildon D 8, Hermits I 6 Baildon E 4.