With training well under way for the coming season, VC Bradford-Pennine Cycles took time out to celebrate a successful 2006 when they held their annual dinner and prize presentation last week.

The club, which is again being sponsored by Pennine Cycles and Stella Azzurra, honoured the efforts of riders young and old with trophies given out for a host of different disciplines.

Lee Jackson was awarded the time trial champion trophy, while Paul Hull was named as the club's off-road champion and received the Darren Ridehalgh Trophy for the most meritorious club rider.

Richard Craddock was named track racing champion, while former leading junior rider and near-veteran Mark Murgatroyd received the title of road race champion after a good season left him a second category racer. Club secretary Paul Corcoran was named the club runs champion.

  • Bradford-area riders performed well in the British Schools Cycling Association Yorkshire/North Roller-Racing Championship at the Wade House Centre, Shelf.

Aireville School teenager Melissa Greaves was the top under-16 girl, beating Arabella Fox of Hipperholme Grammar. She clocked times of 25.72sec and 25.28sec for the two 500-metre heats, and then covered the 1,000 metres in 53.16sec.

Bella Gaffney of Thornton Grammar took third spot in the under-14 girls category, notching up 27.74sec in the 500-metre event and 1min 4.15sec for the one kilometre, while Birkenshaw Middle youngster Billy Harding was second in the boys' under-12 group, having clocked 27.72sec for the 500 metres and 56.66sec for the kilometre.