BRADFORD Bulls have named their squad for the first competitive match of the 2024 season, as they bid to make it to Wembley.

The Bulls kick their Betfred Championship campaign off next month but first up is a foray into the newly formatted 1895 Cup.

Eamon O'Carroll's men will visit the FLAIR Stadium on Sunday to tackle Dewsbury Rams in their first game in Group 2.

The AB Sundecks 1985 Cup has been expanded, with 13 English-based Championship clubs and eight League One sides being split into seven groups of three.

The top team in each group will qualify for the Quarter-Finals, joined by the best-performing second-placed team.

Keighley Cougars are the third side competing with the Bulls in the initial stages and supporters will hope the 21-man squad announced by the club on Friday will have enough to secure victory against the Rams, who were humbled by Bradford's neighbours 35-6 last Sunday.

It means Sunday's hosts are on the brink of being eliminated.

A victory for the Bulls will confirm this and mean they will go into a final fixture showdown against the Cougars for top spot, on February 18.

Jayden Myers, as expected, has made the cut for the weekend - he suffered a dead leg when The Bulls beat a young Leeds Rhinos side 34-8 last weekend but O'Carroll told the Telegraph & Argus Myers had come through okay and was fully fit.

Billy Jowitt misses out though.

He is dealing with a jarred back and O'Carroll said in the week he would need assessing before Sunday's match.

The full 21-man squad is as follows:

  • Keven Appo
  • Joe Arundel
  • Ben Blackmore
  • Chester Butler
  • John Davies
  • Eribe Doro
  • George Flanagan
  • Lee Gaskell
  • Kieran Gill
  • Sam Hallas
  • Michael Lawrence
  • Jordan Lilley
  • Aidan McGowan
  • Jayden Myers
  • Will Oakes
  • Dan Okoro
  • Eliot Peposhi
  • Ebon Scurr
  • Daniel Smith
  • Mitch Souter
  • Jorge Taufua