COUGARS have announced their first-team squad numbers for 2018, with head coach Craig Lingard letting his players to decide the numbers among themselves.

Nathan Conroy takes the number nine following the retirement of James Feather, making Conroy the first player other than the former skipper to wear that number since 2006.

Buster’s successor as captain, Josh Tonks, has opted to remain in the 18 jersey he wore this year, with Player of the Year Matthew Bailey and Man of Steel Brad Nicholson remaining in 19 and 29 respectively.

Harry Aaronson has allowed Ritchie Hawkyard to take the number one jersey in what will be 'Titch’s' testimonial season, with the young full back opting to take the number 28, which represents his birthday.

Hamish Barnes and Adam Ryder take three and four, while the vacant 10 jersey is taken by Trae O’Sullivan, who has made his loan move from Batley permanent.

Among the new signings, Benn Hardcastle takes 23, his squad number at previous club Newcastle, with Samir Tahraoui taking the 27 jersey, representing the Algerian-born prop’s birthday.

Gavin Reed and Aidan Scully move into the 24 and 25 jerseys after making their first-team debuts last season.

As always, the number six jersey remains retired in memory of Danny Jones.


1 Ritchie Hawkyard, 2 Andy Gabriel, 3 Hamish Barnes, 4 Adam Ryder, 5 Davey Dixon, 7 Matty Beharrell, 8 Scott Law,

9 Nathan Conroy, 10 Trae O’Sullivan, 11 Josh Lynam, 12 Brendon Rawlins, 13 Mike Emmett, 14 Joe Lumb, 15 Ryan Wright, 16 Harvey Hallas, 17 Cameron Leeming, 18 Josh Tonks (captain), Matthew Bailey, 20 Lewis Fairhurst,

21 Emmerson Whittel, 22 Liam Senior, 23 Benn Hardcastle, 24 Gavin Reed, 25 Aidan Scully, 26 Aaron Nicholson,

27 Samir Tahraoui, 28 Harry Aaronson, 29 Brad Nicholson, 30 Billy Gaylor