Joe Root has become the tenth Yorkshire player to win the Cricket Writers' Club Young Cricketer of the Year award.

The opening batsman has won this year’s award after team-mate Jonny Bairstow took last year’s honour.

Root, 21, received the award at the club’s annual lunch at Plaisterers’ Hall in London this afternoon after scoring 746 runs from 15 first-class matches during the summer, including a career-best 222 not out.

As well as helping Yorkshire clinch promotion to the top tier of the LV= County Championship, the England Lions batsman was also a key part of the county’s run to the final of the Friends Life t20 competition.

Having impressed with 241 runs from 12 matches, the majority of them batting at number three, Root was named in England’s provisional 30-man squad for the forthcoming World Twenty20 event in Sri Lanka. He missed out when the squad was cut to a final 15.

Following the retirement of fellow opener Andrew Strauss, Root will have a keen eye on England’s Test squad announcement tomorrow for November’s tour of India.

The other nine Yorkshire players to win the Cricket Writers' Club award are: Fred Trueman (1952), Phil Sharpe (1962), Geoffrey Boycott (1963), Chris Old (1970), Ashley Metcalfe (1986), Richard Blakey (1987), Chris Silverwood (1996), Adil Rashid (2007), Jonny Bairstow (2011).