New Farnley squeezed into the fourth round of the Priestley Shield by virtue of losing less wickets than Bradford & Bingley after their game finished in a tie.

New Farnley made 199-8 while their opponents were bowled out with the scores level and 2.2 overs still to go.

Skipper Chris Sowden (49), Joshua Marsden (39) and Andrew Langley (37) were the main contributors for New Farnley. Lachlan Doidge (3-36) and Muhammed Shakoor were the pick of the bowlers with 3-40.

Two of Bradford & Bingley’s talented youngsters, Doidge (50) and Matthew Swallow (38), led the run chase while New Farnley’s concession of 39 extras – 35 of them wides – helped create the tense finish. Will Swift (4-28) was the best of New Farnley’s bowlers.

There was also a close finish at Highmoor Lane where Hartshead Moor scored 119 and beat Northowram Fields by one run after bowling them out for 118.

Morley were made to fight hard for their two-wicket win over Carlton. After bowling out their visitors for just 88, Morley lost eight wickets before securing victory.

Jack Hepworth (3-28) and Gavin Goodlad (3-30) were the pick of the Morley bowlers while Michael Hodgkins (38) top scored for Carlton.

Clark Harrison (3-23) and Will Hayton (3-26) gave Morley a few anxious moments before they sealed their place in the last eight.

Batley’s Kashif Talib struck three sixes and nine fours while making exactly 100 as they piled up a score of 284-9 in their 153-run win over Birstall.

It was another Talib – this time Saqib – who shone with the ball. He took 6-36 as Birstall, despite 47 from Saqib Baig, were bowled out for 131.

East Bierley’s Tom Ormondroyd turned in an impressive all-round performance as they defeated Methley by 47 runs.

Ormondroyd top scored with 94no in East Bierley’s 266-9 and took 4-31 when Methley were bowled out for 219.

Wayne Robinson (44) and Ross Monaghan (40) were the other main scorers for Bierley while Robert Clegg was Methley’s best bowler with 3-17.

The Methley innings featured good contributions from Jake Smartt (74) and Clegg (41), but Ormondroyd and Tom Hoyle (3-35) ensured that East Bierley secured the win.

Kieran Collins scored a superb unbeaten 106 as he and Nicky Rushworth (69no) shared an unbroken second-wicket stand of 184 which secured a nine-wicket win for Woodlands over Wrenthorpe.

Wrenthorpe’s total of 191-6, in which Atta Bashir scored 54, was overhauled in just 22.4 overs as Collins struck three sixes and 17 fours.

Last season’s beaten finalists Pudsey St Lawrence bowed out of the competition as they suffered a seven-wicket defeat against Hanging Heaton – the same margin by which their first team lost the Priestley Cup tie between the two clubs.

Young Josh Priestley made a battling 68 as St Lawrence were bowled out for 149. Spinner Jamie Baulk (4-30) and Nick Bresnan (3-33) were the pick of the bowling attack.

Imran Dawood smashed an unbeaten 80 and was joined by wicketkeeper Craig Russell (43no) in an unbroken fourth-wicket stand of 113.

Pudsey Congs put aside their league struggles to blast the day’s highest score of 348-8 as they defeated Buttershaw St Paul’s by 217 runs.

James Lindley-Dawe (91), Mick Ferguson (75) and Adam Patrick (62) all hit half-centuries for Congs as the St Paul’s attack was made to suffer.

St Paul’s were dismissed for 131 with John McDermott (38) top scoring. Dominic Edwards (4-8) and Adam Patrick (4-35) took the bowling honours for Congs.

The draw for the fourth round will be announced on Monday evening.