FORMER league chairman Steve Raistrick has been awarded the Dales Council League's top honour posthumously.

The award of the Geoff Cope Trophy was announced at their annual prize presentation at the Midland Hotel, Bradford by league president Geoff Cope himself.

Raistrick, who died last February aged 56, was also the league's results and fixtures secretary from 1995-2007 and became league chairman in 2008.

Baildon won the Umpires' Association Sportsmanship Trophy for first teams, while Cookridge won the equivalent award for second teams – the Les Bulmer Trophy.

It was the fourth year in a row that Cookridge had won it, matching the feat of A Division champions Halifax Direct.

Thornbury won the Steve Raistrick Memorial Trophy as the highest-placed B team.

Individually, the evening was dominated by Mohamed Shamir of St Chad's Broomfield.

He picked up five trophies – the C Division batting, bowling and all-rounder prizes, the Stan Stafford Memorial Trophy for most runs in the season, and he also shared the Joe Raistrick Memorial Trophy for most wickets with Shakil Khan (Savile Stars).

Drighlington's Josh Sturgess won the B Division batting award, and was also the top under-18 batsman, as well as picking up the Les Thompson Young Player of the Year award, while Farsley's Jamie Blackburn collected the Roy Webster Memorial Shield for under-18 wicket-keeping for the third year in succession.

Muuaz Khan Subhan (Tong Park Esholt) won the under-18 bowling award, while Ross McHale (Drighlington) won the Judy Griffiths Memorial Trophy as the top under-18 fielder.

Kyle Fenton (Cookridge) collected the Gordon Hay Memorial Trophy as the leading senior fielder, while Syed Hashmi (Crompark) was the top A Division all-rounder.

Stuart Tempest won the John Morgan Umpires' award, and the fastest 50 prize went to Farhan Ali (Halifax Direct), reaching the landmark in 15 balls, including eight sixes.