Yorkshire Cricket Board cricket development managers Steve Archer and Ian Powell have jointly won the Institute of Groundsmanship’s West Yorkshire branch merit award for 2013.

The award was presented to Powell by branch secretary Rod Heyhoe, at their annual meeting at Cleckheaton Sports Club, for the duo’s help in promoting branch affairs behind the scenes and for the work with the YCB supporting groundstaff.

Keith Johnstone was presented with the equivalent of the Turner Prize – a set of aeration tines mounted in an ancient piece of oak, created by branch chairman David Robinson.

This was a token of thanks for all the support provided by Johnstone and John Hawkesworth at Cleckheaton Sports Club.

Following the annual meeting, Powell gave a presentation updating the groundsmen on YCB-England and Wales Cricket Board club development, playing field strategy, funding opportunites and what to do when grounds are flooded.