New Farnley have enjoyed a great first season in the Bradford League.

Both their first and second teams have gained promotion to Division One, while the second team also reached the final of the Priestley Shield where they were beaten by Hanging Heaton.

The first team secured their promotion by gaining a surprisingly comfortable eight-wicket home win over champions Farsley, while the second team have also finished second, nine points behind champions Pudsey Congs.

Former Yorkshire and Gloucestershire spinner Ian Fisher took 4-28 and Dave McCallum 4-32 as Farsley were bowled out for a mere 90. Peter Ross and Tom Suggitt both scored 35 not out as New Farnley eased to their modest target.

This win left them eight points behind Farsley and ten ahead of third-placed Yeadon, who defeated bottom club Great Horton by 112 runs.

Skipper James Todd made 72 and Oliver Halliday 30 as Yeadon declared on 230-6 after 37.4 overs. Great Horton, without a win all season, were bowled out for 118 as Halliday took 3-18.

Fourth-placed Spen Victoria also finished with a win as they beat Brighouse by six wickets. Rob Burton, the league’s leading wicket taker, took 3-14 and Ben Platt 3-35 as they bowled out Brighouse for 111. Tosh Baker led Spen to their target with 59 not out.

Skipper Ben Heritage completed 1,000 runs as Undercliffe beat Gomersal by 52 runs. Heritage made 50 to take his aggregate to 1,047, while Nawaz Sardar scored 75 not out and Tim Orrell 31 as Undercliffe sped to 212-5 in a match reduced to 35 overs per side. They then restricted Gomersal to 160-6 as Amir Hussain took 3-43.

Bankfoot gained a 115-run win over Keighley. Consistent batting by Aaqib Uppal (52), Ankit Rawat (54no), Hisan Ahmad (38) and James Holdsworth (30) enabled Bankfoot to gain maximum batting points with 226-5. Keighley collapsed to 111 in reply as Greg Colehan took 4-36 and James Sawyer 3-47.

Skipper Amjid Hussain made 92 out of 257-6 as Bowling Old Lane gained a 42-run win over second-bottom side Idle, who reached 215-8 in reply with Harpal Ryatt making 48, Nicholas Sugden 38 and Tom Johnson 36.

Hartshead Moor beat Windhill by 50 runs. Graham Hilton made 48 and Jack Baldwin 32 not out as Hartshead Moor scored 199-7, Chris Spivey taking 5-46.

Jack Holland posted 60 but received little support as Windhill were bowled out for 149, with George Saville taking 5-37 and off spinner Will Smith 3-40.