THE Yorkshire County Cricket Club have confirmed that it received the approval of the Financial Conduct Authority of relevant changes to the Club’s rules on 7 February 2024 and that Colin Graves has therefore been appointed as a new non-executive director of the Club.

Mr Graves’ appointment, which is subject to confirmation by YCCC’s members at the Club’s next Annual General Meeting (AGM), comes after members voted at the Club’s recent extraordinary general meeting (EGM) in favour of changes to the rules of YCCC regarding a loan agreement entered into with Mr Graves.

It is intended that Mr Graves will be elected as the new chair of the Board at its next Board meeting, due to take place tomorrow morning (9 February 2024). Mr Graves will succeed interim chair, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, who will remain on the Board as a non-executive director, and previous chair, Harry Chathli.

Mr Graves returns to the Board alongside Phillip Hodson, Sanjeev Gandhi and Sanjay Patel. The new appointments join Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson and Leslie Ferrar, alongside Chief Executive Officer Stephen Vaughan and Darren Gough, the Managing Director of Cricket at Yorkshire CCC.

Member nominated directors, John Jackson and Richard Levin, have stepped down from the Board and the process to replace them will be launched very shortly.

Mr Graves, said: “It is an honour and privilege to be appointed and be back at Yorkshire CCC. I will work tirelessly with the Board to resolve the financial position in which the Club currently finds itself, and to restore financial stability and sustainability to Yorkshire cricket for generations to come.

“Equally, it is my personal pledge to members and to the entire Yorkshire public that, regardless of background, community or ethnicity, all will be welcome in the fully inclusive culture and environment of The Yorkshire County Cricket Club. There will never be any exceptions.

“I have unreservedly apologised for any, and all mistakes either I or the Club has made over the painful and difficult years of the recent past. Lessons have been learned and will continue to be acted on as we move forward and focus on the future of our great Club. Yorkshire CCC will become a sporting institution of which everyone can be proud.”

Stephen Vaughan, the Chief Executive Officer for YCCC, said: “We are pleased to welcome Colin to the Board at The Yorkshire County Cricket Club.

“I, along with the rest of the Board, take our responsibility very seriously. The Board are custodians of the Club and we are mindful of the responsibility that comes with it.

“We are pleased that members voted overwhelmingly in favour of the rule changes enabling Colin’s appointment to the Board, and in doing so protecting the future of Yorkshire, and we look forward to him taking the Club forward.

“Colin will be able to draw on significant experience, both as a former ECB Chair and as a former Chair of the Club whose financial assistance was essential in safeguarding the Club’s ongoing existence some years ago has continued to support the Club in recent times.”

Prior to today, Harry Chathli stepped down as Chair and Board Members Lucy Amos, Kavita Singh, Nolan Hough, Yaseen Mohammed and Trevor Strain stepped down in accordance with the Club’s new financing plans.