STEETON’S Ben Hemsley has won a top award at the Aire-Wharfe League’s annual dinner at Headingley.

He was the leading first XI all-rounder, receiving the Lawrence Walker Trophy.

Hemsley scored 552 runs at an average of 42.46 and took 50 wickets for 673 runs at an average of 13.46.

Steeton, apart from being promoted to Division One, also retained the Waddilove Cup – no mean feat as a Division Two club.

Hemsley’s old club, Bingley Congs, picked up three awards in their first season in the Aire-Wharfe after leaving the Craven League.

Towhid Ali won two of them – the A&J Atkinson Trophy as the leading Division Six batter and the Mike Hibbert Trophy as the leading second XI all-rounder.

Jamie Teale won the third XI Division Two batting trophy.

Harden’s Matthew Hogg received the E&N Holroyd Trophy as the top Division Three bowler.

Meanwhile, Thackley’s Emily Thompson won the William A Gill Memorial Trophy as the Young Scorer of the Year.

The dinner had an attendance of 243 and chief guest was former Leeds United and Scotland footballer Eddie Gray MBE.