THE Horsforth Motor Club officials braved almost artic conditions on Sunday when the Parkwood Off Road trials venue attracted over one hundred competitors from all parts of Yorkshire.

Marking the sections was one task made harder by the frozen terrain. Despite the conditions only six retirements were listed and a dozen riders did not start. York competitor Tom Hick mastered conditions on the hard course and somehow managed ride all twelve sections with incurring a penalty to beat Oliver Sharp and West Leeds Motor Club contender Nigel Crowther.

Cookridge teenager Arran Sherwin was the top youth competitor in the hard route class. Sarah Bell and Lucy Ayrton were placed fifth and eighth In that class. Bradford youngster Charlie Petty won the Class B youth category. Summerbridge chimney sweep Phillip Hammond was the best Novice competitor in Clubman A where Harrogate sawmilll owner Rob Hardisty excelled by incurring one penalty on Lap 3. Clifton youth Jimmy Crabtree won his class by beating Frizinghall teenager Oliver Petty.

Doncaster's Ian Brogden won Clubman B class overall from Michael Kettlewell.


Hard course.

Inters: 1 Thomas Hick (Beta) 0, 2 Oliver Sharp (TRS) 1, 3 Anthony Ayrton

(TRS) 28.

Novices: 1 Daniel Smith (Vertigo) 10, 2 Richard Mellon (Vertigo) 12, 3 Adam Elliott (Beta) 21.

Over 50's: 1 Nigel Crowther (Vertigo) 5.

Youth Class A: Arran Sherwin (Beta) 58.

Youth Class B: 1 Charlie Petty (Beta) 113, 2 Zachary Sellers (Beta) 124.

Clubman Class A.

Novices: 1 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 17, 2 Paul Gravestock (Gas Gas) 18, 3 Richard Crabtree (Vertigo) 21.

Over 50's: 1 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 1, 2 Neil Gaunt (Beta) 2, 3 Howard Gulley (Vertigo) 8.

Youth Class A: Flynn Collings (Beta) 91.

Youth Class B: 1 Jimmy Crabtree (Vertigo) 43 2 Oliver Petty (Beta) 66, 3

Bobby Crabtree (Beta) 70.

Youth Class C: 1 Koby Smith (Beta) 55, 2 Alfie Drachenberg (Beta) 76.

Clubman Class B.

Novices: 1 Jonathan Wilkinson (Beta) 11, 2 David Lowe (Montesa) 11, 3 John Hooley (Beta) 11.

Twin Shocks: 1 Ian Brogden (Ariel) 7, 2 Michael Bayley (Fantic) 13, 3 David Brogden (BSA) 18.

Over 60's: 1 Michael Kettlewell (TRS) 9, 2 David Walker (Gas Gas) 11, 3 Graham Sanderson (Scorpa) 27.

Youth Class B 1 Alanna Eagleton (Beta) 85.

Youth Class C: 1 William Blackwell (Beta) 28, 2 Sophie Sellers (Beta) 60.

Youth Class D: Jacob Smith (Beta) 68.

Small Wheels.

Yellow route: 1 Rocco Watson (Oset) 35, 2 Benjamin Swainson (Oset) 51, 3 Emily Petty (Beta) 51.

White route: 1 Parker Ormondroyd (Beta) 42, 2 Maisie Danes (Oset) 51, 3 Tom Mitchell (Oset) 70.