THE annual Ilkley Motor Club New Year Trial entry at Dob Park last Monday certainly tested trials secretary Jane Tindall.

The entry number was a startling one hundred and forty seven competitors who rode a testing eighteen section woodland course. That entry list included twenty four competitors on the hardest route ranging from experts like winner Leyburn joiner Richard Sadler to top Youth George Hemingway. That alone featured four award classes.

Clubman A was a carbon copy of the expert route where engineer Anthony Ayrton got his TRS machine home on a thirty one score to win the class by five penalties. The final listed finisher collected one hundred and twelve penalties following the same pattern with forty three other competitors.

John Chambers won the class with a twenty two score to beat chimney sweep Phillip Hammond and Triumph Cub mounted Matt Chambers. Matt's ride on a forty year old British bike was a top result. Nick Pullan and his team excelled on route and section planning. The observers officiating totalled thirty covering eighteen sections with varied riding lines for the three classes. The mathematics tested Jane Tindall who dealt with many different classes after what was a hectic event.


Championship course.

A.K.DAWSON TROPHY - Richard Sadler (Vertigo) 8.

Experts: 1 Harry Hemingway Beta Factory 9, 2 Ian Austermuhle (Beta) 13.

Intermediate 1 Thomas Middleton (Vertigo) 45 2 Bevan Blacker (Gas Gas) 49, 3 Danny Cockshott (Gas Gas) 87.

Novices: 1 Sean Robinson (TRS) 51, 2 Daniel Smith (Vertigo) 61, 3 Joe Spivey

(TRS) 66.

Youth Class A: 1 George Hemingway (Beta Factory) 29, 2 Callum Fowler (Beta) 74.

Clubman A:

Experts: 1 Anthony Ayrton (TRS) J.S Duxbury Trophy 31.

Inter: Gary Pears (Scorpa) 86.

Novices: 1 Stuart Blythe (Vertigo) 36 -mc, 2 Jake Walker (Vertigo) 36, 3 Robert Berry (Vertigo) 41.

Youth Class B: Charlie Petty (Beta) 85.

Youth Class A non-competitive: Arran Sherwin (Beta) 61.

Clubman B: 1 John Holdsworth (Sherco) 22, 2 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 26, 3 Matt Chambers (Triumph) 26.

Youths Class C: 1 2 Koby Smith (Beta) 82, 3 Bobby Crabtree (Beta) 107.

Youth easier section:: 1 Jimmy Crabtree (Vertigo) 59, 2 Zachary Sellers

(Beta) 63, 3 Oliver Petty (Beta) 118.