THE County Championship will return to a two-division structure from next season, meaning Yorkshire will be back playing in Division One.

The previous two seasons have been played under a different structure during the pandemic, with the introduction of the Bob Willis Trophy in 2020 and a three-group seeded system used for the 2021 campaign.

This return to two divisions will see the Championship played under the conditions originally agreed by the counties in 2018.

That will see 10 teams playing in Division One and eight teams in Division Two - with a two-up, two-down promotion and relegation system.

Each county will be placed into the division they would have been set to compete in had the 2020 County Championship taken place, with Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire having won promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire having been relegated to Division Two.

The return to two divisions, where each team will play 14 matches, was voted through by the first-class counties.

2022 Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire.