THE FINAL round of Aire-Wharfe League fixtures on Saturday did not disappoint, with titles decided, plenty of runs scored, and sides escaping relegation by the narrowest of margins.

Division One Champions Saltaire finished the season with a thriller against Burley-in-Wharfedale at Roberts Park, edging out a high-scoring encounter by one wicket.

Jason Wright (69) and Nick Brook (60) set the visitors up nicely before middle-order Harry Watson added 31 as Burley finished on 231-9, with Mussawar Shah (4-66) the best of the home bowlers.

Joe Hall (3-47) and Harry Watson (2-42) impressed with the ball to set the match up for a tight finish, but Shah (61 not out) did just enough to see Saltaire over the line with three overs remaining.

Otley needed to equal Rawdon’s result to secure their place as runners-up, with the Cross Green side duly delivering after easing to a 136-run victory against relegated Olicanian.

Mohammed Nadim (5-81) notched his second five-wicket haul of the season but could not stop Otley from finishing on a competitive 311-9, with middle-order Rob Spivey and James Davis (both 61) impressing with the bat.

Skipper Harry Smallwood (48) and Sam Pilling (32) saw Olicanian make a strong start in their reply, but a bowling charge led by Stephen Brown (5-65) and Nathan Goldthorp (2-38) saw them finish comfortably second-best.

George Myers was again the hero for Rawdon, scoring his second century of the season as they demolished a poor North Leeds side by 232 runs.

Achieving a magnificent 119 not out from just 79 deliveries, Myers spearheaded a strong Rawdon line-up, with James Dobson (68), Richard Porter (61), and Harry Nicholson (50) also making half-centuries to help the hosts to a mammoth 367-8.

Rawdon’s fantastic afternoon continued with the ball, Ross Jennings (5-58), Joe Smith (2-29), and Joel Morley (2-34) seeing just four North Leeds batters make double figures as they were bowled out for a below-par 135 inside 20 overs.

Elsewhere, Collingham & Linton’s electric end-of-season form continued with a nine-wicket victory at Bilton, whilst Beckwithshaw made light work of relegated Horsforth in a 112-run win at The Stag Den.

Alex Palmer (19) was one of just three batters to make double figures as Bilton collapsed to 68 all out, with Charlie Swallow (4-19) the standout bowler, before captain Toby Jacklin (51 no) and Greg Brown (14 no) saw Collingham & Linton over the line in just 15.1 overs.

Beckwithshaw made 263 against Horsforth, largely due to wicketkeeper Miles Buller – who notched a fantastic 115 from just 68 deliveries – and skipper Ben Holderness (43), despite Matt Cordingley taking a career-best 7-64 with the ball, with Scott Irvine (5-25) ensuring that the visitors never came close to recording their first win of the season.

There was also final day delight for Addingham against Ilkley, with Ricky Palacio taking 4-47 before scoring 57 with the bat, aided by wicketkeeper Ben Brearley (59 no), as they comfortably passed their target of 173 with seven overs remaining

New Rover secured the Division Two title in style, picking up the maximum 20 with a six-wicket win at home to Tong Park Esholt, who narrowly missed out on promotion.

Skipper David Hester (58) and Dru Patel (48) formed the backbone of Tong Park’s competitive 214, but Fahid Rehman’s match-winning 125 not out saw the hosts chase down their target with overs to spare.

Horsforth Hall Park also sealed promotion after a comfortable eight-wicket victory against Green Lane at Nunroyd Park.

Waleed Akhtar (38) and Imran Zaman (19) were the only batters of note as the hosts were bowled out for just 96, with the economical John Brough taking a season’s best 5-18 with the ball.

Despite losing an early wicket, the visitors soon recovered, taking 14.1 overs to reach their target thanks to Joe Greaves (44 no) and Michael Kelsey (42).

In a similarly low-scoring match, last-placed Guiseley delivered one of the shocks of the day after bowling promotion-chasing Pool out for a disappointing 89, with Benn Hallas (3-3), Harry Naylor (3-28), and Jonny Baines (3-31) making an impression with the ball.

Though it took 25 overs for the hosts to reach their target, the win was never in doubt, with a 59-run partnership between Jonny Baines (34 no) and Joe Fisher (30 no) seeing them over the line.

Kirkstall Educational were also victorious at Follifoot, with Callum Oliver (51) and Daanyaal Hussain (41) contributing the majority as they chased down 180, despite Istikhar Hussain (5-44) bowling well.

Steeton’s seven-wicket victory at Adel saw the Summerhill Laners escape relegation and move up to eighth, whilst the nine points Colton Institute picked up at Bardsey were enough to see them avoid the drop by one point.

Matthew Hogg (5-45), Martin Walker (45 no), and wicketkeeper Will Grace (33) saw Harden claim the Division Three title by eight points after a comfortable seven-wicket win at Bolton Villas, with Calverley St Wilfrids also promoted to the second tier after Nav Panesar (95) and Johnny Hudson (4-49) helped them to a 96-run victory at Old Leodiendians.  Written by: Emma Kennedy