AFTER five months and 22 matches, the destiny of the Craven League Division One title came down to the final over.

Hosts Haworth, bidding to overhaul title rivals Bingley Congs’ 140, ended up winning by three wickets with two balls to spare to snatch the crown on runs-per-wicket average.

Haworth, who knew that nothing less than victory would suffice as they were three points adrift before the start of the match, won the toss and chose to field.

Congs, as has been their habit of late, were given a fine opening by George Hicks (23) and Danny Pearson (25), who put on 43.

However, little happened down the order until No.8 Dave Tarren (27) and No 10 Matt Roberts (37) boosted the score from 89-8, with Haworth's Jamie Rowell running riot with 5-39.

Haworth’s top four seemed to put them in charge, but the key innings came from No.4 Dan Trowers (53no), dropped on 26 at long on, as Haworth slipped from 61-1 to 85-7.

However, he was helped in no small part by No.8 Damian Rowell, whose 19 not out, virtually on one leg due to a recurring Achilles problem, contributed to an unbroken stand of 59 to just see Haworth home in time.

It is the first time that Haworth have won the top-fight title since 2012, while Congs have now finished runners-up in three successive campaigns.

At the bottom of the table, Ingrow’s decision to bat first at home to Haworth Road Meths backfired when they were dismissed for 74, with Andy Maude taking 3-10, Ammar Younis 3-11 and Goher Ayoub 3-29.

Meths, who ended an at-times-difficult campaign in seventh, then won by eight wickets, with opener Naseeb Ali making 21 and Chris Griggs and keeper Fahim Khan both 22 not out.

Cowling, who have had a yo-yo existence in the past decade, ended a fine campaign in third after a comprehensive win at Wilsden.

Martyn Dalby’s side batted first and made 278-7, with Doug Richardson the best of eight bowlers used with 3-37.

Wilsden were then dismissed for 120, with Richardson completing a fine match with 39 and Hasnat Bukhari making 36 as they added 61 for the fifth wicket.

Hepworth & Idle had the honour of being the last opponents for Embsay, who are leaving for the Nidderdale League.

Embsay, who won the toss at Westfield Lane, made 227-8, with skipper Jonathan Robinson taking 3-39.

The latter was again to the fore when the Westfield Laners batted, scoring 50 off 41 balls in their 155 all out, hitting six fours and three sixes.

Simon Raistrick helped him out with 45 as Hepworth & Idle, Division One champions two seasons ago, finished ninth.

Bradford & Bingley III, who hold an identical position in Division Two, ended their campaign with a 20-run defeat at Silsden.

Oliver Gokhale took 3-22 in Silsden’s 188-8, and Bingley replied with 168, with opener Noah Thirkill scoring 52.

Relegated Cononley, at home to Eldwick & Gilstead, made only 33 in reply to 152-9, which was built on the back of Matthew Sharp (31), Ajeet Singh (49) and Steve Timperley (22).

Jordan Bayliss then took 4-14 and Singh 2-2 in the one-sided innings after tea.

Third-placed Bradley ended the season in style at home to demoted Bingley Congs II.

The home side racked up 257, with Murtaza Butt taking 3-55, and Congs II then scored 178, keeper Chris Hemsley rolling back the years with 66, including nine fours.

In Division Three, Hepworth & Idle could not hold off Embsay II for long, being dismissed for 81, with keeper James Bentley (23) and Jonny Jenkins (18) doing best.

Embsay then won by eight wickets in the 16th over.

Wilsden II suffered defeat by the same margin at third-from-bottom Cowling II after making 146-7, with Liaqat Ali (27) and Jeffrey Pickles (42) starring with the bat.

In Division Four, fifth-placed Bingley Congs III completed a solid season with a six-wicket victory at home to Hepworth & Idle III, who ended up sixth.

The newcomers were dismissed for 79, with father-and-son Kamran and Bilal Azami doing best with 30 and 16 respectively as Simon Webster took 2-17, Andy Greenwood 2-29, Sean Hatherley 2-6 and Andy Copping 2-3.

Copping then made 16, keeper James Watson 28 and Sam Higgins 22 not out as Congs won by six wickets in 11.5 overs, with Kamran Azami taking 2-26.