THE Bradford Motor Club struck lucky at lofty Glusburn on Sunday, where Manor House Farm hosted the second WBS Summer Series of trials.

The weather was perfect for the 66 competitors and trials officials.

Ironically, the series sponsor Nathan Wrigglesworth missed out on the top spot to Bradford expert Charlie Smith.

Wrigglesworth matched Smith all the way until section seven on the final lap, when he lost one vital mark to see victory slip away.

Frizinghall farmer David Petty won Clubman A, while keeping an eye his young sons Oliver and Charlie.

The Clubman B or easier route was a battle of the ages and it ended up with Over 50s class winner Chris Manby topping the column from novice Vernon Clarke.

It was a big day for young Edward Kopasz, who rode his Oset for the first time in a trial.

The Silsden boy usually rides in the Small Wheels division but with his new special footpegs he can control his Oset far better.

He battles against the handicap of cerebral palsy, and on Sunday, recorded faultless rides through 12 sections, which is progress indeed.


Hard course:

Experts: Charlie Smith (Beta) 0, Nathan Wrigglesworth (Sherco) 1, Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 29.

Inters: Shaun Szulhan (Vertigo) 27, Anthony Ayrton (TRS) 27, Cameron McIntyre (Gas Gas) 70.

Novices: Elliott Laws (Vertigo) 11, Phil Blacker (Beta) 23, Mathew Baldwin (TRS) 46.

Youth Class B: Jacob Reeday (Beta) 87.

Clubman A: David Petty (Beta) 4, Neil Sharp (Gas Gas) 14, Neil Wright (TRS) 14.

Over 40: Johnny Baker (Beta) 53.

Youth Class A: Mason Carter (TRS) 44, Arran Sherwin (Beta) 78.

Youth Class B: Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 37.

Clubman B:

Novices: Vernon Clarke (Beta) 9, Simon Cowburn (Beta) 11, Chris Mitchell (Beta) 16.

Over 50s: Chris Manby (Beta) 5, Chris Laws (Vertigo) 10, Mark Chippendale (Vertigo) 18.

Youth Class A: Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 31.

Youth Class B: Jimmy Crabtree (Gas Gas) 10, Charlie Petty (Beta) 41, Jack Pullan (Sherco) 81.

Youth Class C: Zachary Sellers (Beta) 29, Oliver Petty (Beta) 71, Bobby Crabtree (Beta) 200.


Novices: Andrew Hunter (Beta) 8, Tony Whiteoak (Beta) 81. Over 50: Mike Frizzell (Beta) 86.

Youth Class B: Ruby Lawrie (Beta) 41, Flynn Collins (Beta) 89.

Youth Class D: Isaac Reeday (Beta) 5, Sophie Sellers (Beta) 32, Edward Kopasz (Oset) 89.