BASHARAT Hussain, who has been a guiding light for the Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League both before and after its inauguration just over a year ago, has been elected as their new chairman.

He thanked Altaf Hussain for his work over the previous two years in both helping to form and lead the league, and promised to promote cricket within the league, telling member clubs that they have a vital role to play.

Basharat will also be the new chairman of the Dewsbury & District Cricket League, which is affiliated to the Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League.

Meanwhile, the Quaid-e-Azam Premier League’s committee have been elected for another year at the league’s delayed annual meeting.

League fees for the season have been pegged at 2020 levels due to difficulties regarding cricket and Covid-19.

A total of eight clubs had committed for the 2021 season in the Dewsbury section, but there have been resignations from both New Sanam and Scouthill.

The league season starts on Sunday, April 18 for the Premier Section, Crescent Section and Star Section, with the affiliated Dewsbury & District League beginning on Sunday, May 2.


Quarter-finals: PKWA v KK, Kashmir v Friends XI, Klassic v Gujarkhan, Azad v AMYA. Matches to be played on Sunday, June 20.

Semi-finals: Sunday, July 18.

Final: Sunday, August 1.


Quarter-finals: Klassic v Friends XI, AMYA v Gujarkhan, KK v PKWA, Kashmir v Azad. Matches to be played on Sunday, August 15.

Finals day: Sunday, August 22.