COUGARS head coach Rhys Lovegrove has named a 30-man squad for this weekend’s Joe Phillips Memorial Trophy fixture against Bulls.

With this being the Cougars' first action for 370 days, Lovegrove is keen to give all players within his first team squad game time ahead of the return to competitive action next weekend against London Broncos in the first round of this season’s Challenge Cup.

As a result, the Australian has named all available players in the squad for the trip to Dewsbury’s Tetley’s Stadium.

The 30-man squad includes Jack Arnold, who is free to play for the time in 19 months after the RFL granted him amnesty from the remainder of his suspension as a result of Covid-19, as well as nine new signings and three trialists.

Among the new faces and trialists though is a piece of history, as a father and son will line up alongside each other in Cougars colours in the shape of Quentin Laulu-Togaga’e and 17-year-old son Phoenix.

‘PLT’, a full-back by trade similar to his father, comes to club from the academy at Leicester Tigers Rugby Union and is one of the three trialists looking to impress tomorrow afternoon.

Also hoping to make a mark and earn a deal with the club are Keighley Albion product Josh Slingsby, recently released by Wakefield, and a familiar face to Cougars fans in the shape of Aidan Scully.

Scully made a first-team appearance for the club against Workington Town during the 2017 season and remained with the reserves side until the end of the 2018 season, when he departed to join National Conference League outfit Stanningley.

The large squad named leaves only three absentees who are Wellington Albert (ankle), Jake Webster (paternity leave), and Spencer Darley (shielding).

Albert underwent a successful operation on Sunday and is now at home recuperating, whilst Webster and Darley are both expected to return to training in the coming weeks.

1 – Quentin Laulu Togaga’e

2 – Mo Agoro

4 – Taylor Prell

5 – Robert Matamosi

7 – Jack Miller

8 – Jack Coventry

9 – Kyle Kesik

10 – Dalton Desmond-Walker

11 – Jason Muranka

12 – Dan Parker

13 – Aaron Levy

14 – Ryan Wright

15 – Scott Murrell

17 – Dan Hawksworth

19 – Billy Gaylor

20 – Brenden Santi

21 – Alfie Seeley

22 – Alix Stephenson

23 – Matthew Bailey

24 – Kieran Moran

25 – Ben Stead

26 – Bobby Darbyshire

27 – Jack Arnold

28 – Josh Lynam

29 – Zach Braham

30 – Morgan Robinson

31 – Charlie Graham

32 – Aidan Scully (Trialist)

33 – Phoenix Laulu-Togaga’e (Trialist)

34 – Josh Slingsby (Trialist)