THE Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League have confirmed the identity of the two latest clubs that have been approved as members.

The league, which was only formed last spring and is largely based in Leeds and Bradford, have welcomed Wakefield Stars and Dewsbury-based Scouthill.

Wakefield Stars are a newly-formed outfit, as are almost a quarter of the teams entering the league, and are supported by top Bradford League club Batley.

The approval of Stars extends the reach of the Sunday league to Wakefield, and the league will now focus on the Calderdale area.

Scouthill, who were encouraged by their players to join in order to play a higher standard of cricket, were successful members of the Dewsbury and District Sunday Cricket League, winning that last season by 10 points from joint runners-up PKWA and Friends.

The Dewsbury league have opted to maintain their associate status with the Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League, who supported them during the shortened 2020 season.

Although the Dewsbury & District Sunday League will thus keep their independence, they will again receive administrative help from the Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League in terms of things like player registration and finances.

Eight of the 10 clubs who played in the Dewsbury & District Sunday League will again feature in the 2021 season, but the Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League are hoping that new teams will be formed from the Dewsbury, Huddersfield and Halifax areas.

Fixtures in the Quaid-e-Azam Premier Cricket League's Premier Section are scheduled to start on Sunday, April 18 and end on Sunday, September 12.

Matches in the Crescent Section and Star Section, which sit in parallel below the top flight, will start and end on the same dates, with play-offs for promotion to the Premier Section due on Sunday, September 19 and Sunday, September 26.

May 3 (Bank Holiday Monday), May 23, June 13, July 4 and August 8 have been set aside for rounds of the Leeds Sign Design Cup.