FORMER world trials champion and Silsden legend Dougie Lampkin demonstrated his skills at a remote and almost Arctic Cockhill Mines high above Nidderdale on Sunday, where he rode his Vertigo machine to a clear victory over Richard Sadler and Tom Minta.

The non-championship event attracted 71 main course contenders and just eight small wheels youngsters, who enjoyed a six section course taking in the grassy banks and some shallow parts of the Cockhill stream.

The icy easterly wind chilled all involved.

The main course headed east across the moor to section one, alongside a boundary wall, then dropped into the deep valley to ride two stream sections.

The narrow ravine just accelerated the cold wind and the observers were tested. John Hinchcliffe drew the short straw - section five, which towered above Parc Ferme.

Lampkin was penalty free through every section on all four laps, until section four on his final visit, when he put a boot down.

Sadler was threatening and rode four sections without loss, but dropped marks.

Minta battled with section five and incurred eight penalties, then failed the muddy gradient at section nine, which really tested the hard course contenders.

Alan Mudd ran away with the Clubman A class from Honda-mounted Paul Jackson and Gas Gas rider Katy Sunter.

Robin Luscombe took his BSA Bantam to a second class victory in seven days to beat Sherco-mounted Phillip Hammond and Rob Hardisty.

One section was practically cut down to a mud slide for all classes and observer Chris Beecroft marked many failures.

The small wheels contingent rode six grassy and stream sections.

Class winners Koby Smith, Jacob Bragg and Jacob Smith were well ahead of their rivals.

As for further dates for the diary, a Spen Valley M.C.C. Trial will be held at Parkwood Off Road Centre in Tong from 11am on Sunday.


Hard course

Experts: 1 Dougie Lampkin (Vertigo) 1, 2 Richard Sadler (Gas Gas) 7, 3 Tom Minta (Scorpa) 24.

Youth Class A: 1 Elliott Laws (Vertigo) 68, 2 George Hemingway (Beta) 81, 3 Alice Minta (Scorpa) 100.

Clubman A: 1 Alan Mudd (Beta) 27, 2 Paul Jackson (Honda) 52, 3 Katy Sunter (Gas Gas) 56.

Youth B: Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 134.

Clubman B: 1 Robin Luscombe (BSA) 15, 2 Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 23, 3 Robert Hardisty (Sherco) 26.

Youth Class B: Arran Sherwin (Beta) 109.

Youth Class C: Zachary Sellers (Beta) 161.

Small Wheels hard course

1 Koby Smith (Beta) 32, 2 Oliver Richardson (Oset) 57.

Small Wheels middle course

1 Jacob Bragg (Oset) 27, 2 Sophie Sellers (Oset) 45.

Small Wheels easy course

1 Jacob Smith (Beta) 39, 2 Edward Kopasz (Oset) 55, 3 Adam Carter (Oset) 70.