A BRADFORD rider produced an almost faultless performance to win a trial in Bingley.

Kieran Child incurred only one penalty on the hard course in the eighth trial in the Simon Green Motor Engineers annual championship series, which took place on the broad acres of Deer Park.

Sam Boocock was set for victory until the tenth section where he lost two penalties.

50 competitors, of all ages, rode a 10 section four lap course.

The organiser plotted a compact separate course for a quartet of Small Wheels youngsters where the top honours went to Ellis Mitchell on the hard route, while Tate Croft headed the trio on the easier route.

On the Clubman A route, Pontefract’s Ian Brogden was too sharp for Otley’s Richard Crabtree and Mick Kettlewell.

Young Harrison Lightfoot excelled with a fine fifth place over Lucy Ayrton who won Class A Youth division riding her RS machine.

Class B attracted the highest entry with 22 contenders. Jonathan Wilkinson was the winner and returned a penalty free scorecard.

Bradford brothers Charlie and Oliver Petty were placed third and fourth which rather shaded their father David’s last place on the hard course.

Results: Hard course - Inters: 1 Kieran Child (Beta) 1, 2 Sam Boocock (Sherco) 2, 3 Anthony Ayrton (TRS) 14. Novices: 1 Chris Hunt (Gas Gas) 9, 2 Richard Mellon (Vertigo) 10, 3 Paul Kettlewell (Shervco 13. Over 50: Steven Fowler (Beta) 15.

Clubman A - Novices: 1 Richard Crabtree (Vertigo) 5, 2 Shaun Lightfoot (Vertigo) 22, 3 Mathew Jackson (TRS) 46. Over 50’s: 1 Ian Brogden (Beta) 3, 2 Michael Kettlewell (TRS) 6, 3 Paul Wilson (Montesa) 10. Youth Class A Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 28. Youth Class B: Harrison LIghtfoot (Beta 17. Youth Class C: Jimmy Crabtree (Beta) 40.

Clubman B - Novices: 1 John Hindle (Beta) 3, 2w Simon Cassidy (Montesa|) 28. Over 50’s: 1 Jonathan Wilkinson (Beta) 0, 2 Steve Wickes (Sherco) 4, 3 Jason Lee (Scorpa) 5. Pre-65: 1 Steve Gossop (Ariel) 9, 2 David Brogden (BSA) 11. Youth Class B: 1 Charlie Petty (Beta) 3, 2 Flynn Collins (Beta) 12, 3 Jack Pullan (Sherco) 16. Youth Class C: 1 Oliver Petty (Beta) 4, 2 Bibby Crabtree (Beta) 19.

Small Wheels - White course: Ellis Mitchell (Oset) 45. Yellow course: 1 Tate Croft (Beta) 68, 2 Evie-Rae Edmundson (Oset) 68, 2 Charley W Jennings (Oset) 75.

Elsewhere, Leyburn joiner Richard Sadler cut his rivals down to size at Brimham Rocks where he won the tough Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club’s championship trial without incurring a single penalty.

His precise riding of his JST Gas Gas won the day from Telford Scorpa teamster Tom Minta and Chester’s Bradley Bullock.

The latter claimed third place overall from Bradford’s Charlie Smith by virtue of a tie break decider.

Both were defeated by teenager Harry Hemingway who had just returned from world championship events in Europe.

Andrew Holker won Clubman A from John Bannister and Darren Gill while Knaresborough building supplies director Neil Gaunt delivered the right result to beat constant rivals Rob Hardisty and Phil Hammond.

The organiser also managed to plot a Small Wheels course for 11 youngsters where Koby Smith, Alanna Eagleton and Sophie Sellers were the class winners.

Results: Hard course - Experts: 1 Richard Sadler (Gas Gas) 0, 2 Tom Minta (Scorpa) 1, 3 Bradley Bullock (Beta) 9. Youth A: George Ckarke (Sherco) 77, 2 Harry McLoughlin (Beta) 130. Youth Class B: 1 Harry Hemingway (Beta) 6, 2 George Hemingway (Beta) 39, 3 Jasper Fox (Beta) 128.

Clubman A - 1 Andrew Holker Vertigo) 27, 2 John Banister (Beta) 39, 3 Darren Gill (Beta) 42. Youth Class A: 1 Josh Brown (Beta) 47, 2 Ethan Chapman (Scorpa) 93. Youth Class B: Joshua Pearson (Vertigo) 78.

Clubman B - 1 Neil Gaunt (Vertigo) 23, 2 Rob Hardisty (Sherco) 33, 3 Phil Hammond (Sherco) 34. Youth Class A: Mason Carter (TRS) 60. Youth Class B: 1 Jack Bennett (Beta) 88, 2 Arran Sherwin (Beta) 102. Youth Class C: Zachary Sellers (Beta) 131.

Conducted classes - Hard route 1 Koby Smith (Beta) 14, 2 Ruby Lawrie (Oset) 49. Middle route: 1 Alanna Eagleton 41, 2 William Blackwell 42, 3 Aiden Richardson 47. (All Oset). Easy route: 1 Sophie Sellers (Beta) 1, 2 Jacob Smith (Beta) 16, 3 Edward Kopasz (Oset) 33.