THE chances of Yeadon-Guiseley Motor Club staging their fourth club championship trial on Sunday at Addingham Moorside was in the balance.

For a starter Airedale, Wharfedale and Wensleydale were more or less lakes with impassable roads and were under heavy rainfall.

On top of that, hill fog blanketed Yorkshire. The moorside scenery was blotted out but the crack of a Montesa 4rt signalled that somewhere in the gloom Guiseley's Danny Cockshott was planting course marker flags and setting out ten sections.

Amazing but by 11am 63 main course contenders and ten small wheelers were ready for action.

The temperature was about zero with gale force gusts of wind prevailing, but the fog lifted to be replaced by rain and ultimately by sunshine.

Despite the travelling conditions, MRS Sherco teamster Jack Peace arrived from Kirkbymoorside as did Pocklington expert Olly Kendra.

Peace cleaned the course and Kendra just beat Dan Hemingway for third place while his son Harry kept Peace occupied and claimed second place.

The final two sections, manned by Mick Shorrock and Brian Ayrton, took Little Hemmo for nine marks otherwise the gap would have been just four.

The course tested all classes but judicious flagging by Cockshott produced an eleven score for Barnoldswick's Anthony Ayrton in Clubman A while Neil Gaunt pegged Clubman B on a mere three dabs from Tony Holmes and Cub mounted Matt Chambers.

The ten small wheelers rode six sections and the ground was on the soft side of slippery, especially for the narrow wheeled electric bikes.

Jimmy Crabtree beat in-form Alfie Carney on the hard route as both boys were attacking the rocks with intent.

Koby Smith ran off with the middle route class by cleaning the first three sections.

William Blackwell won the easy route from Sophie Sellers with the determined Edward Kopasz in third place.


Championship course

Experts: Jack Peace (MRS Sherco) 0, Olly Kendra (Beta) 22, Dan Hemingway (Beta) 24.

Inters: Charlie Smith (Beta) 25, William Tolson (Beta) 26, Danny Cockshott (Montesa) 55.

Novices: Tom Middleton 29. Jonny Chambers (Vertigo) 39, Adam Howling (Vertigo) 90.

Youth Class A: Harry Hemingway 13, Max Chadwick 55, George Hemingway 64. (All Beta).

Clubman A: Anthony Ayrton (Montesa)11, Michael Benn (Gas Gas) 16mc, Ben Handley (Vertigo) 16.

Youth Class B: Charlie Crossland (Beta) 24, Henry Stephenson (TRS) 26, Jasper Fox (Beta) 32.

Clubman B:

Novices: Tom Peacock (Vertigo) 17, Ben Yeadon (Beta) 19, Dave Lamin (Vertigo) 21 mc.

Over 40s: Phillip Hammond (Sherco) 6.

Over 50s: Neil Gaunt (Vertigo) 3, Tony Holmes (Beta) 4, Matt Chambers (Triumph) 5 fc.

Youth Class A: Luucy Ayrton (TRS) 49.

Youth Class B: Arran Sherwin (Beta) 31, Freddie Stephenson (TRS) 58.

Youth Class C: Harrison Lightfoot 32, Zachary Sellers 92, Oliver Petty 100. (All Beta).

Small Wheels hard: Jimmy Crabtree (Beta) 40 mc, Alfie Carney (Oset) 40, Bobby Crabtree (Beta) 82

Small Wheels medium: Koby Smith (Beta) 30, Aiden Smith (Oset) 49, Oliver Richardson (Oset) 58.

Small Wheels easy: William Blackwell 19, Sophie Selles 45, Edward Kopasz 56. (All Oset).

* The Batley Classic and Modern Trials Club headed for the Parkwood Offroad Centre at Tong on Saturday where 36 competitors assembled to ride an eight section four lap trials course devised by Helen Greaves.

The club plotted three routes for the classes and even after the inclement weather the scores were just about perfect.

Bradford Inter graded rider Charlie Smith won the hard route class with a zero score on penalties.

Rob Chadwick and Steve Gossop won the Inter and Easy classes, respectively. Gossop was also best Pre-65 competitor on his BSA Bantam.


Expert course

Experts: Charlie Smith (Beta) 0, William Tolson (Beta) 1, Anthony Ayrton (Montesa) 3.

Youth Class A: Max Chadwick (Beta) 6, Frankie Rhodes (Beta) 14.

Youth Class B: Jasper Fox (Beta) 17, Charlie Crossland (Beta) 18, Jamie Rowntree (Beta) 74.

Clubman A:

Inters: Rob Chadwick (Beta) 10, Stephen Wilde (Montesa) 11, Mick Kettlewell (TRS) 13.

Youth Class A: Lucy Ayrton (TRS) 34.

Youth Class B: Harrison Lightfoot (Beta) 23.

Youth Class C: Zachary Sellers (Beta) 97.

Clubman B:

Simon Cassidy (Montesa) 6, Steve Ellis (Gas Gas) 11, John Hindle 12.

Pre-65: Steve Gossop (BSA) 5, Ken Normington (BSA) 17.