THE SHORTLIST for the fifth annual Bradford Sports Awards has been revealed following a record number of nominations.

Cricket World Cup winner Adil Rashid, Isle of Man Senior TT motorcycle champion Dean Harrison and Great Britain triathlete Andrew Dovernor are up for the sportsman of the year title.

Bradford Bulls captain and England international Amy Hardcastle, national Taekwondo champion Ellie Bowden and England Street Child Cricket World Cup player Jasmin Akter are the finalists for the sportswoman of the year.

There are 19 awards in total across four categories up for grabs when the wealth of Bradford's sporting talent will be celebrated at a ceremony at Bradford City's Valley Parade ground on Thursday, March 12.

Chairperson of the awards’ organisers Active Bradford Wayne Jacobs, a former Bantams player is looking forward to honouring the city's sports achievers.

He said: “We have a lot of amazing people in our district. We have people who have achieved success, both personal to them and in the sporting world.

"We also have people who give their emotions and energy to others for them to be able to achieve their successes. It’s fantastic to hear more about these people and to be able to celebrate their achievements with them.

"I believe the judging panel had a very difficult afternoon choosing finalists for each award. Everyone should be proud of what they’ve achieved over the last year, and beyond.”

The full list of finalists are:

Young male sportsperson: Jayden Simpson-Kidd, Alex Thompson, Dominic Coy

Young female sportsperson: Gina Bene-Hamill, Hermione Roe, Maisey Bellwood

Young disability sportsperson: Barnaby Street, Dylan Lightowler, Emily Hebden

Young club/team: Alpha United Juniors Football Club, Great Horton Church Cricket Club, Keighley and Craven AC Juniors

Sportsman: Adil Rashid, Dean Harrison, Andrew Dovernor

Sportswoman: Amy Hardcastle, Ellie Bowden, Jasmin Akter

Disability sportsperson: Farah Yasin, Steven Birkin, Mark Rhodes

Club/team – amateur: Keighley Albion Ladies, Bradford, Keighley and Skipton Disability Athletics, West Bowling NCL 1st Team

Club/team – professional: Bradford Park Avenue, Keighley Cougars, Bradford Bulls

Active Lifestyle: Hassan Hayatt, Mohammed Suleman, Julie Burrows

Active Workplace: Baildon Church of England Primary School, Step 2 Young People’s Health,

Active Schools: Baildon Church of England Primary School, Girlington Primary School, Ryecroft Primary Academy

Student club/team: Baildon CofE Primary School Cross Country Team, Girlington Primary School Additional Resource Centre for Hearing Impaired Children Boccia Team, Woodhouse Grove Junior Girls Cross Country

Coach: Farooq Khan, Janet Alison-Arkwright, Natalie Simpson-Kidd

Volunteer: Joanne Dean, Lucy Oldroyd, Mohammed Waheed

Teacher: Ian Frost, Kate Bainbridge, Niall O’Brien

Sporting Highlight: Bradford Bulls (beating Leeds Rhinos in the Challenge Cup), Bradford Dragon Boat Youth Festival, Women’s Elite Cycle Road Race – UCI World Championships

Special Recognition: Raymond Tate, Pam Hoyle, Shiv Krishan

The winners will be revealed at the ceremony on March 12. To purchase tickets for the event, visit