YORKSHIRE LPS have been unanimously accepted into the Dales Council League for the 2021 season.

The Bradford Mutual Sunday School League club will field two teams.

The Westwood Park-based club, formed 25 years ago, wanted to split their resources next season and play one team in the Dales Council League (just called LPS) while leaving the other in the Bradford Mutual Sunday School League.

However, this scenario was rejected by the Dales Council League at their annual meeting at Pudsey Congs, with league secretary Ron Mackenzie saying: "You cannot split teams and sidestep the YCB regulations."

LPS, whose teams finished eighth in Group A and fifth in Group C in the Mutual League in 2019, were widely praised as an organisation by two clubs that have recently joined the Dales Council League from the Mutual League.

Mayfield representative Martin Dunne said: "They are a very good club and a cracking set of lads and have never been in trouble with the (Mutual) league as far as I know.

"A lot of the lads in the team run their own businesses."

Dunne's words were backed up by Interlink, although LPS were reminded that they will have to provide two umpires as a condition of joining the Dales Council League in 2021.

Mackenzie said: "LPS have one ECB-qualified umpire and have had no issues on or off the field."

Meanwhile, Interlink and Rodley were both unanimously accepted as full members of the Dales League after a year's probation, while Morley were unanimously re-elected.

Caribbean have asked for their release from the Dales Council League and intend to play in the Aire-Wharfe League in 2021.

League treasurer David Smith, who reported a loss on the year ending September 30, 2019 of £450, has stepped down after 28 years in the post but has agreed to guide his potential successor Neil Bonnington.

Vice-presidents Johnny Whiteley and Alan Wardle have both passed away between November 2018 and November 2019.

Whiteley was also a life member and has been replaced in that section by league secretary Ron Mackenzie.