ALAN Broadbent has become the first person in the history of the Bradford Mutual Sunday School League, which started in 1896, to receive their most prestigious trophy twice.

The 80-year-old, who has just retired as an umpire but remains the league president, was first given the award for Leslie B Briggs Trophy, initially awarded in 1971 for meritorious service to the league, in 2005.

League chairman Nick Spachis, who presented the award at the league's prize presentation at the Aagrah Midpoint at Thornbury, said: "I have known this man for 30 years and have never had a cross word with him and he has been a stalwart of the league as a player and then an umpire.

"In fact I don't think that anyone has a bad word to say about him and the league will be at a loss without him now that he has decided to retire.

"He is also the most honest man I have ever met and I am delighted that I can call him a friend.

"He wins the award for his longevity and diverse contribution to the league."

Broadbent, a man of few words, said of the award: "I am over the moon about it and I couldn't have done it without all my colleagues - it is really, really out of this world."

He finished umpiring this season after 28 years' service to the league, having taken up the white coat when he was 52 after playing for St Stephen’s Church (now West Bowling), Haworth Road Meths and Muff Field.

Broadbent reached double figures in terms of umpiring the league's cup finals (Sir James Roberts Cup and H Broadbent Trophy).

Awards - Batting, Group A: Shmail Khan (Omar's), 631 runs, ave 52.58. Group B: Istiraj Khan (Northcliffe), 445 runs, ave 37.08. Group C: Abdul Dyan Qazi (Greenfield), 490 runs, ave 44.55.

Bowling, Group A: Zafar Mahmood (Bradford Moor) 34 wkts, ave 7.38. Group B: Saqib Mehmood (Northcliffe) 27wkts, ave 9.22. Mohammed Ali, 8 wkts, ave 4.50. Group C: Mohammad Zubair (Bradford Gymkhana) 29 wkts, ave 8.69.

Fielding: Qayum Nisar Khan (Girlington) 4pts (from 12 games). Most wickets: Tariq Mahmood (Bowling Baptists B), Shazaid Yousaf (Bowling Baptists A), both 45. Wicket-keeping: Craig Williams (Bowling Baptists) 30 victims.

Roll of honour 2019 - Group A: Salem Athletic. Group B: Northcliffe. Group C: Greenfield. Sir James Roberts Cup: Hallfield. H Broadbent Trophy: TABS. Men of the match - Sir James Roberts Cup final: Muhammad Asim (Hallfield). H Broadbent Trophy final: Abdur Rahman (TABS).