LEGENDS of Bradford Northern and Bulls will be honoured from next season in a new hall of fame, according to interim chairman Eric Perez.

The Canadian revealed seven key names from the club's past will be recognised during the course of the 2020 Championship season.

Each of the magnificent seven will be given a nominated home matchday at the Tetley's Stadium - the Bulls' base in Dewsbury next year - where their loyal service to the Bulls or Northern will be celebrated. They will also be awarded with an amber blazer to mark their induction.

Perez is looking to give the new consortium at Bulls some impetus in the coming months before his focus returns to establishing new Canadian club Ottawa in League One in 2021.

And he believes highlighting the heritage of Northern and Bulls is important.

He said: "It's a celebration of the good times at Bradford. How can we go forward unless we honour our achievements? If you don't honour your past, they will be forgotten.

"We care about our heritage. That's a big thing this year.

"We will bring the community back together and bring them in. It has to be a celebration when the goal is to get the amber jacket."

Perez says the first inductee will be announced in due course and posthumous individuals may also be included, with the honours being presented to their families.

He also says Bulls fans will be able to nominate their own names to be included via the club's social media.

Perez says he has taken the hall of fame concept from sports in the USA and his native Canada, including American football and ice hockey.

He said: "There are going to be seven members inducted this year.

"Everyone will get a matchday and be presented with an amber blazer. We will celebrate players and coaches as well.

"It's like the NFL Hall of Fame. It's a North American concept that we will bring to the club."

Where Bulls will be located after next season remains unclear but the consortium's priority is to bring the club back to Bradford.

And Perez said the intention long term was to have the hall of fame incorporated into their home when the club return to the city.

Likely names in the frame for an induction next year include those from the Bradford Northern/Bulls team of the century which was announced back in 2007 to mark the club's 100-year celebrations.

That was Stuart Fielden, James Lowes, Joe Vagana, Trevor Foster, Karl Fairbank, Ellery Hanley, Paul Deacon, Robbie Paul, Shontayne Hape, Ernest Ward, Lesley Vainikolo, Jack McLean and Keith Mumby, with Brian Noble as coach.