PUDSEY St Lawrence’s Josh Priestley was awarded the coveted Greg Duggan Memorial Trophy at the Bradford Junior League’s prize presentation evening at Cleckheaton Sports Club.

Priestley, 17-year-old son of notable Bradford League player Ian, received the award for his efforts for Bradford in the Joe Lumb Competition.

League chairman Phil Radcliffe said: “Josh captained the side well throughout the season and had several notable batting and bowling performances.”

The respective Brian Clough trophies, named in memory of the Bowling Old Lane stalwart, went to Baildon’s Sam Kelly (under-15s), Cleckheaton’s Yusuf Malik (u13s) and Lightcliffe’s Dylan Crossley (u11s) for their performances in the Yorkshire Junior Cricket Festival (aka Lord’s Taverners).

Team manager Craig Cockshott said of Kelly: “He turns up, never complains, never bothers which end he bowls at and is now starting to reap the rewards.”

Wes Brookes nominated Malik, who scored 209 runs – the second-highest aggregate overall in the festival - at an average of 52.25, including two fifties and a top score of 73.

Brookes stated: “He also bowled some very useful overs and captained the side excellently - a mature young cricketer who is developing into a very fine player who applies himself well to all that he does and was a pleasure to manage.”

Shiv Krishan said of under-11 winner Crossley: “He is going to be an excellent opening bat and is a popular member of the team – a laugher and a joker.”

Radcliffe thanked the teams that took part in the league, but more particularly the parents and coaches, the umpires and those who provide refreshment.

He said: “We salute all the winners but let’s think of all the other teams that make up the league who provide opposition and friendship during the season.

“All the players in the room have somebody to thank for their enjoyment in the game of cricket.

“In most cases this will be their parents for encouraging them to play the game, take them to grounds, ensure that their kit is clean and tidy, praise them when they play well, support and comfort them when they have not performed well and encourage them to continue in the game and do better the following week.

“Then there are the coaches who give up so much of their free time to help you with your game and strive to make you better players.

"Let’s not forget the umpires and scorers and those who provide refreshments during the games.

“We have witnessed some great games this summer in both the World Cup and the Test series against Australia and these games have provided the best stage to show off the game of cricket and hopefully can encourage more children to take up the game.

“Next year when you turn at to your club’s coaching sessions, invite one of your friends to go with you and encourage them to play the game. This can double the number of participants.

“Who knows? The next Ben Stokes or Joe Root may be sitting in this room.

"All county and international cricketers have to start somewhere.”

Individual awards – Greg Duggan Memorial Trophy (for under-17s): Josh Priestley (Pudsey St Lawrence). Brian Clough Trophies – Under-11s: Dylan Crossley (Lightcliffe). Under-13s: Yusuf Malik (Cleckheaton). Under-15s: Sam Kelly (Baildon).

Under-15s – Joan Peel Batting Trophy: George Hammond (Thornbury) 9 innings, 204 runs, average 22.6. Joan Peel Bowling Trophy: Harry Pinkney (Thackley) 23.4 overs, 48 runs, 16 wkts, ave 3.00. Ronnie Harrison Wicket-keeping Trophy: Jack Bedford (Thackley) 10 victims, 3 caught, 7 stumped.

Under-13s – Batting Trophy: William Leach (Lightcliffe) 6 inns, 177 runs, ave 29.5. Bowling Trophy: Matthew Lindsay (Adwalton) 21 overs, 52 runs, 10 wickets average 5.2. Wicket-keeping Trophy: Waris Awan (Great Horton Church) 13 victims, 5 caught, 8 stumped.

Honours list – JR Gregson Trophy (Under-15s, Section One): Thornbury. Gordon Bowers Trophy (Under-15 North): Thackley. Under-13s, Section One: Cleckheaton. Section Two: Great Horton Church. David Bairstow Cup (under-13s): Lightcliffe. Under-11s, Section One: Lightcliffe. Section Two: Baildon. Section Three: Great Horton Church. Ernest Jones Trophy (under-11s): Great Horton Church. Under-nines: Gordon Bowers Trophy: Great Horton Church.