TORONTO are guaranteed to provide the Betfred Championship player of the year after Wolfpack trio Andy Ackers, Gareth O'Brien and Jon Wilkin were named on the three-man shortlist.

The Canadian club finished the regular season 12 points clear and their domination is also reflected in Brian McDermott being included on the shortlist for coach of the year.

The former Leeds boss is facing competition from Sheffield Eagles' Mark Aston and York's James Ford, who was League One coach of the year in 2018.

Joe Cator (Leigh), Matty Ashton (Swinton) and Keanan Brand (Widnes) are the candidates for young player of the year.

The winners will be announced at the awards evening in Manchester next Tuesday.