JER LANE have won the JW Lees Brewery T20 Group B Cup for the first time after beating Northowram Fields by 63 runs in the final at Birstall.

They hit the day's highest score of 204-7 before bowling out Northowram Fields for 141.

Opener Abubakar Dawood made 54 and Tom Watson (31) impressed as Jer Lane took charge of the game.

Northowram Fields lost skipper John Lister without a run on the board and wickets fell at regular intervals. Mohammad Jamal took 3-14 as Jer Lane triumphed.

Last season’s runners up were the best team on the day and they showed in the final that they possessed both the strongest batting line-up and the fastest opening bowlers in Mohammad Jamal and overseas player Hazrat Shah.

Jer Lane didn’t need to show the full power of their armoury as they defeated Hunslet Nelson by six wickets in the day’s second semi-final.

Nelson chose to bat first and were bowled out for 104. Only Danny Cross (23) and Andrew McIntosh (21) made an impression as Amjid Khan (3-17) and Gurdev Singh (2-15) posed problems. Nelson didn't help themselves with two run outs - one a spectacular one by wicketkeeper Imran Mirza.

Jer Lane knocked off the runs in 15.5 overs. Abubakar Dawood (29) gave them a sound start and skipper Raqeeb Younis finished the job with an unbeaten 30. He sealed victory with a six.