CARLTON clinched the Championship Two title with a seven-wicket win over Liversedge whose relegation was confirmed by the result.

The trophy will be presented to Carlton before their final game at home to Bowling Old Lane next Saturday and it is a just reward for their consistency throughout the league campaign.

Second-placed Birstall are 25 points behind after their four-wicket win over Spen Victoria, but they too can reflect on a job well done after securing promotion.

Only Asad Mahmood (41) and Matt Gibson (33) offered real resistance as Liversedge were bowled out for 112. Kieran Holliday (4-15) and Spencer Hunt (3-42) did much of the damage. Carlton had little trouble knocking off the runs as Daniel White led the way with a knock of 49.

All-rounder Josh Haynes, last season’s Gordon Bowers Young Cricketer of the Year, sparkled as Birstall overcame Spen Victoria.

After taking 4-45 as Birstall dismissed their rivals for 140, Peter Jackson top scoring with 40, Haynes made 50 as Birstall secured victory. Bilal Ejaz (3-42) and Abid Awain (3-55) were the successful Spen Victoria bowlers.

Adwalton’s relegation back to the Conference after just one season was confirmed on the day they secured only their third win of the campaign.

Bowlers Ghulam Hussain (5-75) and Vinit Patel (4-47) joined forces as Hunslet Nelson were bowled out for 167, Glenn Thompson (41) and Andrew McIntosh (34) top scoring.

Adwalton knocked off the runs for the loss of seven wickets thanks to an unbeaten 55 from Usman Shakir which countered the threat posed by Will Stiff (4-44).

Who fills the third relegation spot will not be clear until after Saturday’s last round of fixtures.

Hopton Mills are the team most at risk after their five-wicket defeat by Bowling Old Lane left them 13 points behind Altofts and 15 adrift of Northowram Fields.

It means they have to win their match at home to Buttershaw St Paul’s on Saturday to have any chance of catching either Altofts or Northowram Fields who meet on the final day.

Arsalan Ejaz took 5-27 as Mills were all out for 117. Amjid Hussain made 40 as Old Lane eased to victory.

Altofts went down by 17 runs in their clash with East Ardsley. Even an unbeaten 87 from Imran Patel and 39 from Sam Huitema were not enough as their side were dismissed for 217 in response to East Ardsley’s 234-7, in which Louie Hurley (54) and Dan McTiernan (37) led the way.

Northowram Fields secured a nail-biting win over third-placed Yeadon to give their chances of avoiding relegation a huge boost.

Hammy Shahzad set up their success with 5-26 as Yeadon were skittled out for 113. Northowram Fields also found runs hard to come by as left-arm spinner Gareth Lee took 6-15, but they managed to edge home.

Buttershaw St Paul’s moved into fourth place after securing a three-wicket win over Jer Lane. Skipper James Sawyer took 3-31 as Jer Lane perished for 108. Kevin McDermott made 34 as St Paul’s eased home.

Meanwhile, in the Conference, Sandal skipper Kristian Shuttleworth lifted the Conference Championship trophy aloft after his side rounded off their title-winning campaign with a resounding 10-wicket win at East Leeds.

Opening bowler Sam Noden took 7-28 as the home side were dismissed for just 77. Openers Karl Hewitt (40no) and Danny Riley (33no) steered their side to their 15th win of the campaign.

Australian Tyson Freeman took his tally of runs for the season to 811 with a superb 110 as second-placed Great Preston beat Rodley by 229 runs.

Freeman struck 19 fours and was supported by James Marston (37), Kieron Thurston (36) and Stuart Ruddick (35) as Great Preston posted the day’s highest score of 318-8.

Daniel Hill took 4-85 for Rodley, who were bowled out for 89 when they batted. Lee Russell took 4-11, and Freeman (3-18).

Heckmondwike & Carlinghow hauled themselves off the bottom of the league with a surprise three-wicket win over third-placed Gildersome.

Paul Cooper (57) and Adam Holt (47) led the way as Heckmondwike & Carlinghow chased down Gildersome & Farnley Hill’s score of 70, despite the efforts of Josh Edmondson (5-20).

Gethin Clarke (62) and Josh Sturgess (34) led the way for Gildersome & Farnley Hill as Usman Qureshi (5-51) posed the main threat.

Oulton’s season ended in defeat as they went down by 77 runs against Windhill & Daisy Hill.

Gaurav Patel took 5-24 as they were bowled out for 114 replying to a score of 191.

Adam Swaine’s knock of 73 was the highlight of the Windhill & Daisy Hill innings, while Joe Sykes (4-46) and Matt Boucher (3-46) were the pick of the Oulton bowlers.