A BUMPER new-look Yorkshire Amateur League (YAL) gets underway this week with additional teams from the Bradford district and a new prestigious status.

Top division fixtures kick-off tomorrow and a number of those clubs taking part have made the move over from the now defunct West Riding County Amateur League (WRCAL).

This boosts the historic league's numbers from 86 clubs to 98 and their number of divisions has increased to eight.

But, the most important announcement is the league's new status.

For this season, the YAL has been admitted to Step Seven in the FA National League System.

The league hopes the move will encourage clubs to improve their standard of facilities, with access open to extra funding.

In terms of the league make-up, a new Supreme Division has been created and organisers expect it to be highly competitive.

There are 16 teams in the top flight, including the arrivals Littletown, Esholt-based Route One Rovers, Ryburn United, Bradford-based Toller, Ovenden West Riding, Lower Hopton and Steeton from the WRCAL - itself a Step Seven league before it dissolved.

West Riding County FA Challenge Trophy winners Wortley and eight teams from last season's Premier Division make up the rest of the numbers.

Games in the Supreme Division get underway earlier than the rest of the league, with eight fixtures taking place tomorrow night at 6.30pm.

There are then further matches on August 24, 28 and 31.

Other WRCAL teams of old are spread across the different divisions.

Bradford club PFC debut in the Championship, while Lepton Highlanders begin their YAL journey in Division Two with their reserve side featuring in two steps below.

Meanwhile, Whitkirk Wanderers have come into being as a result of a merger of Whitkirk's old Division One side and Amaranth. They slot into the Premier Division.

Founding members St Bede's, from Bradford, and Collegians will battle in the Premier too, while Old Centralians and Leeds Modernians are in Division Four.

Finally on the team front, there have been nine new sides formed from the league's existing clubs to further competition and rivalry between teams in the lower divisions.

All the remaining seven divisions commence on Saturday, September 7.

In more positive news, the league has been invited back to take part in the Inter League Cup.

The prestigious competition is now designed for Step 7 leagues only and in the opening round, Yorkshire Amateur sides will face up against teams from the North Riding League.

Organisers have already secured their first sponsor for the YAL, agreeing a partnership deal with Absolute Warehouse Services Ltd.

Full list of clubs and fixtures released to date:

Supreme Division: Alwoodley, Athletico, Calverley United, Drighlington, Farsley Celtic Juniors, Horsforth St. Margarets, Leeds Medics & Dentists, Littletown, Lower Hopton, Ovenden West Riding, Route One Rovers, Ryburn United, Stanley United, Steeton, Toller, Wortley.

21/08/19 fixtures: Alwoodley v Farsley Celtic Juniors; Calverley United v Ryburn United; Drighlington v Lower Hopton; Leeds Medics & Dentists v Horsforth St. Margarets; Littletown v Stanley United; Ovenden West Riding v Route One Rovers; Steeton v Toller; Wortley v Athletico.

Premier: Collegians, Ealandians, Gildersome Spurs, Leeds City, Middleton, Morley Town, Shire Academics, St. Bedes, Stanningley, Whitkirk Wanderers, Wibsey.

Championship: Beeston Juniors, Colton Athletic, Dewsbury Rangers, Ealandians Reserves, Golcar United, Horsforth St. Margarets Reserves, Idle, Leeds Independent, Leeds Medics & Dentists Reserves, Mount St. Marys, PFC, Woodkirk Valley.

Division One: Alwoodley Reserves, Athletico Reserves, Beeston St. Anthony, Fairbank United, Farsley Celtic Juniors Reserves, Horsforth St. Margarets IIIs, Leeds City Reserves, Lepton Highlanders, Shire Academics Reserves, Thornesians, Tyersal.

Division Two: Gildersome Spurs Reserves, Horsforth St. Margarets IVs, Huddersfield Amateur, Leeds City IIIs, Leeds Medics & Dentists IIIs, Middleton Park, Morley Town Reserves, Norristhorpe, North Leeds, Prospect, Sandal Wanderers, Trinity & All Saints.

Division Three: Drighlington Reserves, Ealandians IIIs, Garforth Rangers, Lepton Highlanders Reserves, Littletown Reserves, Morley Town IIIs, Norristhorpe Reserves, Savile United, Shire Academic IIIs, Tingley Athletic, Woodkirk Valley Reserves, Wortley Reserves.

Division Four: Calverley United Reserves, Colton Athletic Reserves, Farnley Sports, Leeds Modernians, Middleton Park U21s, Morley Town Development Squad, North Leeds Reserves, Old Batelians, Old Centralians, St. Bedes Reserves, Thornesians Reserves, Tyersal Reserves.

Division Five: Beeston Juniors Reserves, Colton Athletic IIIs, Dewsbury Rangers U23s, Farnley Sports Reserves, Huddersfield Amateur Reserves, Leeds City IV, Leeds Modernians Reserves, Old Centralians Academics, Shire Academics IVs, St. Bedes Academy, Thornesians III, West End Park.