IN patchy sunshine on a firm pitch that had had the covers on all night, the Cowling Cup final between Bradley and Embsay II got off to a prompt start at 10am up at Gargrave.

Bradley went first and against some tight bowling found the going tough.

Steve Speak’s allocated four overs produced 1-7 and George Arkwright 1-13 to limit the batters to 22-2. Harry Andrews and Danny Hunt (29) got the score to 58 when the latter perished.

Andrews who finished on 36no mustered the rest of the innings to reach 95-6 at the end of 20 overs. Leg spinner Zain-Ul Hassan finished with 3-20.

Embsay stuttered all the way through their innings against some good bowling. They closed on 51 all out as John Duffey (3-8), Jack Andrews (3-11) and Andy Holmes (2-13) kept a tight rein on things. Only Dominic Kay (10) and extras (11) reached double figures.

The trophies were presented by new president, John Mewies, after acting secretary Trevor Coe had thanked Gargrave for their sterling effort getting things ready.

Meanwhile, in the Wynn Cup showpiece, the eagerly-awaited confrontation between the league leaders, Crossflatts, and third-placed Bingley Congs followed the Cowling Cup final, in the afternoon.

Crossflatts went first and were cruising at 103-6 after 16 overs, then lost their last four wickets without adding to the score. Josh Brooksbank (23) top scored as Harry Greenhalgh (3-35), Matt Roberts (2-10), Neil Copping (2-10), and Steve Broughton (2-10) did the damage.

In reply, Bingley Congs were never in the hunt and closed on 66-9 at the end of their allotted 20 overs.

Skipper Neil Copping (25) and Matt Roberts (10) were the main contributors as Mayank Singh (3-8) and Bright Njanji (2-4) were the best bowlers.

A disappointment for the crowd was that the main run makers in the league this season, Johandre Barnard (Bingley Congs) and Njanji (Crossflatts), failed to contribute more than eight apiece for their sides.

So, a new name is added to the Wynn Cup.

Prior to the presentation the Gargrave club were thanked again for their splendid efforts on the day. Also, Dacre Son & Hartley for the 14th year of sponsoring the final.

The umpires chose Matt Roberts as their man of the match.