WAYNE Ditchfield (Eccleston) and Gerald Merry (Tarporley) were the first qualifiers in the £5,300 Brighouse Classic sponsored by Damart.

Ditchfield beat Andy Mitchell (Thornhill) 21-7 in the final game and Merry left David Jackson (Macclesfield) on 12. The action continues with heat two on Friday evening.

Full draw, Friday 6.30pm: Dan Petcher (Derby) v Tony Bannister (Mytholmroyd), John Armitage (Pudsey) v James Martin (Huddersfield), Gareth Nicholson (Halifax) v James Thomas (Sheffield), Tom Eccles (Rochdale) v Robbie Ellis (Skipton), Ben Stapleton (Rochdale) v Brian Smith (Derby), Graham Hirst (Mirfield) v Marc Armitage (Pudsey), Tommy Johnstone (Poynton) v Jonny Wood (Crossgates), Andy Gilroy (Bradford) v Kieran Bannister (Mytholmroyd).